NoJoMo Day 14 (w/note) in The Long and Winding Road

  • Nov. 14, 2015, 3:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Note: I haven’t had time yet to fully absorb the terrorist attack in Paris, or to write about it. Certainly my heart aches for Paris and its people, and I have my opinions about how the world should respond, but I am not ready to write about it. While doing something as frivolous as writing a light hearted entry here on a sad morning such as this, might make it appear that I don’t care, that couldn’t be further from the truth. But NOT writing will not change anything. NOT writing and NOT living our lives means that they win.

Day Fourteen: What is something you do really well? (Ex: cook, sew, woodwork, skateboard)

This might seem like a strange response, but one thing I do very well is multi-task. On my job, one of my biggest skills is handling multiple crises or “fire drills” as we call them, at once. I am really good at prioritizing, and doing things in the most time efficient, productive way so that by the end of the day, all those balls I was juggling in the air, have ended up in my hands and not crashing to the floor. I’m also very good at anticipating what is going to be needed, either for my boss or in a given situation, and I do it before it’s asked of me. These are really critical skills for my job and I take a lot of satisfaction from a successful day in the trenches.

I’m super organized. I have moved many times, and I am the most organized move planner you will ever meet. I pack things in boxes that have color coded tape on them – yellow for the living room, red for the bedroom, etc., so everything ends up easily in the right spot at the new place. I start packing well in advance, starting with the things I don’t use very often and working my way up to the things I will need at the last minute. I always have a couple boxes packed that have their own distinctive color of tape on them, to identify them as items I will need right away, like a shower curtain, shampoo, etc. For this reason, I get settled into a new place very quickly.

I think I have an eye for color and decorating. I love to decorate my home and, in my mind, I like to decorate yours too!

I’ve mentioned my super typing skill more than once so no need to keep going there (even though I just did).

Other than that, I’m kind of a jack of all trades and a master of none!


Last updated November 14, 2015


GypsyWynd November 14, 2015

Where were you when I was moving?!? :)
You've got awesome skills!!

woman in the moon November 14, 2015

I like your image of yourself. I think you are very efficient with that too. Clarity is a good thing.

plushcreep November 14, 2015

Good to know. After all, we won't be in this apartment forever, and there will be a ton of boxes to move...

Anaiss plushcreep ⋅ November 14, 2015

Sure, I'll be glad to give you some tips. LOL!

Justlovely November 14, 2015

I still don't know the details of Paris. We had news on last night, but I couldn't grasp anything about it beyond that it was BIG, and chaotic, and a lot of bad stuff went down. I haven't found any articles this morning that have given me further details.

Justlovely November 14, 2015

I like that you know what your skills are and that you are in a job that lets you use them every day!! I was proficient in an office, but always a very low lever worker and it was the wrong work environment for me. I do love hearing about your job, though, because I can imagine all that.

Just Annie November 14, 2015

Successfull multi-tasking is a great skill to have.

I've admired your decorating talents for a long time. I like the "lightness" of your condo, yet it's still very cozy and inviting.

Deleted user November 15, 2015

I am envious!!! I am a master of little ! :-(

NorthernSeeker November 16, 2015

You have many gifts...and ditto what Just Annie said about your decorating skills.

Anaiss NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 16, 2015

Thank you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.