The tooth dilemma... in Orange, red and gold are the leaves. Autumn 2015

  • Nov. 13, 2015, 2:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It was a dark, November night. Rain hammered against the window as a little voice called “muuum!”. I groaned, lifted my head an inch off the pillow and murmured “yes darling.”

That was all it took for the quivering voice to almost shatter in panic. “I spat my tooth out and I can’t find it!” It said, breath hitching in panic “will I still get a coin?!”

“Come here,” I responded, arms open and she fell into my hug “I’m sure you’ll still get a coin.”

My beautiful daughter, always rationalising the things that worry her, said “mummy, I think she will give me a coin because she’ll notice the gap in my teeth,” then nodded, satisfied. I whispered agreement, gave one last squeeze and she went back to bed.

      • *

Going by the times of other occurrences in the house, I think the tooth fairy must have arrived shortly before 6am, I also think she looked for the tooth and found it, put it with the other teeth, ready to turn into fairy furniture. And as I ate breakfast a very excited Lila ran downstairs, clutching her golden coin “Look mummy! Good news!” She shouted, a huge smile on her face.


Deleted user November 13, 2015

Awwwww

thesunnyabyss November 13, 2015

how sweet of you and the tooth fairy!

Ceylon Sapphire November 13, 2015

that tooth fairy is the best!

I need tea. November 13, 2015

Changing November 13, 2015

Sweet story!

Deleted user November 14, 2015

You always do the right thing !

colojojo November 15, 2015

aww :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.