NoJoMo11 in NoJoMo15

  • Nov. 11, 2015, 9:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not going to do the prompt today.

My Grandfather whom I was never fortunate enough to meet died two weeks before the second Great War ended. My Mom only got to meet him once, at least that she remembered. She was only two, he was off on leave, he brought her with him to the barber shop. I am so grateful and thankful that he gave his life so we could live ours so freely compared to other places, but I really do wonder what my Mom’s life would have been like he had been there.

I truly hope that one day ‘war’ will be an antiquated word we only hear in history class or on Remembrance Day.


NorthernSeeker November 11, 2015

Nothing wrong with a little NoJoMo rebellion...tell them what to do with that prompt. Neither of my grandfathers were accepted into the armed forces for WW2...flat feet on both side of the family. One grandfather worked in the coal mine at Britannia Beach and the other ran a barber shop.

thesunnyabyss NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 12, 2015

my other Grandfather, the one I actually knew and loved, was too young for the first one and too old for the second, not sure how he managed that, lol,

have a great day!!

Beret November 12, 2015

I like this.

Deleted user November 13, 2015

That's so sad that your mom only saw her dad a couple times. Kids' parents dying, it's SO SAD. I can't even think about it for too long, the idea of a child not knowing what it's like to have a mother or father. Mehmet too.. no father or father figure in his life ever. I just can't... :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.