NoJoMoDay 10 in The Long and Winding Road

  • Nov. 10, 2015, 9:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Day Ten: What is your favorite restaurant like? What do you eat there? What’s the decor like?

I like a good pub restaurant. For the most part, I prefer locally owned restaurants and I avoid chain restaurants, where the food is prepared to an exact standard so that it’s the same in every single restaurant across the country. No chef creativity or originality. However, I do go to them occasionally - usually it’s Cactus (Mexican food) or P.F. Chang’s (Chinese food).

To make me really happy, give me linen tablecloths, candles, fresh flowers, a pianist in the corner is really nice, or classical music softly in the background. Attentive wait staff and most of all, fabulous food. Children are required to be well behaved and to sit at the table, or they are asked to leave. I don’t pay good money for that ambiance and experience only to have it ruined by parents who think it is their children’s right to inflict their bad behavior on me by screaming, or getting down on the floor and run around. There are lots of more casual, family friendly restaurants where children are welcome and I understand I’m going to hear a baby crying or screaming. (My grandson is 19 months old and already knows how to sit calmly in a restaurant, he knows he has to wait for his food, and he knows how to behave. It’s not that hard. And on the few occasions when he has come close to a meltdown, one of his parents takes him outside and walks him a bit until he can calm down.)

I like to try new foods. But some of my favorites are prime rib, almost any seafood - crab stuffed fish, or scallops with a nice sauce on the side; steak tartare. Then I like a nice after-dinner drink. My mom would always order a Brandy Alexander. I like to order cognac or Irish Coffee.

Hmmm, time to make a dinner reservation somewhere!


GypsyWynd November 10, 2015

My dad made Brandy Alexanders every Christmas. Good for Sarah and David for teaching Addison so young. My parents did the same. I think we're better for it.

The Guardian November 10, 2015

wow you just described the Date I didnt know I wanted.....now I have to tell Randy. JR

NorthernSeeker November 10, 2015

We didn't take our daughter out to eat until she was about 4 years old. No way she would have sat still for that long. Sarah and David are lucky (not that I'm sure they haven't done everything right to teach him) if Addison is so well behaved and quiet.

Anaiss NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 10, 2015

Well, they go out to eat a LOT. Probably 4-5 times a week between brunch on weekends, lunches and dinners. So he's been exposed to it since he was 3 weeks old and has had a lot of practice.

Just Annie November 10, 2015

Now I'm really hungry!

My late sister, Julie, used to think it was "cute" when her youngest son, Aaron, would visit every table in the restaurant. He couldn't sit still, she claimed, so he got to wander around. I refused to go out to eat with them.

Ella is such a little adult when we go out to eat. She's quiet, puts her napkin on her lap, and waits patiently for her food. And she's really good at trying new things. No kids' menu for her. (Katie doesn't want her to fall into the hot dog and chicken nuggets trap.)

Anaiss Just Annie ⋅ November 10, 2015

Sounds like Katie and Sarah/David would get along well. Addison's never had anything from the kids' menu either. I'm proud of them for that! I guess there might be some environments, and some patrons, where a child going around to visit each table is cute. I don't find it cute, I find it annoying. I'm there to enjoy a meal, not to make conversation with someone else's child who is intruding on the adult conversation I've been enjoying, and the meal I'm eating. If I want to visit with your child, how about I come over to your table and wander around talking and being cute!

QueenSuzu November 10, 2015

I like an Irish coffee after dinner too, except then I have trouble sleeping!

plushcreep November 10, 2015

I share your disdain for chain restaurants (in fact, I just dissed 'em in my last post). Having said that, I do agree that P.F. Chang's is a step above most. Sadly, the one I used to go to in downtown Portland, a block from Powell's, closed a while back. Bummer. No more salad rolls or Asian pear mojitos for me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.