the maturation of the wizened soul in Book of Lies.....

  • Nov. 9, 2015, 9:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Usually when one is inspired it comes from some long ago chronicle carved in the stone of a mindful soul of long ago. I wish I could say such is true for this entry.

Actually, this post is a mixture a life lived and novels read. I heard a quote last night from a brilliant novel repeated through cinema. It has made me ponder a few things. Wisdom, maturation and chronological age.

The quote: Kudo’s to those who can place it....

“I am twelve years old but I have been twelve for a very long time.”

How do we mature is the question. Should we mature? What is mature. Stodgy, boring, impotent thinking. Is maturity exclude fun loving impulsive behavior. Many would say yes. Be silly and someone may tell you to grow up. Mind your manners. Funny, the operative word there is “mind” not “manners”. Do as the subjective whole commands.
Interesting to me (in this land of words without true communication into the eyes of others) is the construction of the other intellectually. I have friends here that post no images. No flowers, scenes of sunsets, and certainly not selfies or even statements of whereabouts, Not even geographic location. What do I see when I read their words? Are they 20ish? 60ish? Mature and inspiring? Wise and well learned?

I would lie to you all to say I do not construct the human with every word I read. And what of the words I read? Are they being carefully constructed and not just rolling off the tongue? What do we have before our eyes here?

Think about it this way. I currently have 35 writers here who have friended me. If we were all to ask them to answer a series of questions pertaining to their opinion of me without the ability to have ever heard my voice. Looked into my eyes. Know my age, sex, and on and on how would these answers vary.

How old am I
What sex am I
Do you find me mature
Insightful
Humorous
Depressing
Untrustworthy
Untruthful
Deceptive
Conniving
Attractive
Erotic
Neurotic

The quote above has been mentioned in the most narrow of its true intention about how the surface of things can be misleading. Wisdom does come with experience but not necessarily decades of interaction.

I have been twelve for a very, very long time. My wisdom may be ultimately defined in the fact that remaining twelve was the wisest thing I have every aspired to be.


Mr. Mofo November 09, 2015

That 12 year old quote sounds like something Robin Williams would have said.

invisible ink Mr. Mofo ⋅ November 09, 2015

How true...

Skikkles911 November 10, 2015

It's true, frankly I'd like to ask this of my readers as well, I think I'd get some varied answers (not as many as you I believe haha~)

invisible ink Skikkles911 ⋅ November 10, 2015

well one thing is only one person offered up answers friend... hint hint....

colojojo November 10, 2015

Hmm. Well.

I have no idea, maybe 27? Male. Yes, in the PB realm. Yes. Yes. No. Couldn't tell. Probably not. Doubtful. Possibly. From your words, yes. I would guess yes. Aren't we all?

I wonder how right I am

middle age pearl November 10, 2015

So if answers thought or suspected written
Will answers be forthcoming and correction given?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.