Back in the Saddle in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Nov. 8, 2015, 12:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, it’s been a bit since I’ve been on here. Lots going on, mostly positive. There’s still the day to day aggravation of dealing with my son’s mother in law and the custody suite over our granddaughter, but as time draws nearer I am becoming ever more confident that my son will be awarded custody.
Pamala (the grandmother) fears she will not be allowed to see the girls once she has lost her case, but that’s just not true. We want the girls to know her, we simply do not believe that living with her is what is best for Raina. Sienna, having a different biological father who is alive, will be living with him as of November 25th. We have already arranged visitation with her and spend a great deal of time with her biological family now. It is not ideal since the girls will be living in different households, but they will still see one another throughout the week.
I have been spending a lot of time getting to know Bradley’s son Micah, and as a result Pamala found out he exists. She thinks it is some type of elaborate subterfuge related to the custody case and has demanded a DNA test. I won’t repeat my exact words, because I am not proud of my response but it boiled down to, “He was not YOUR son, Micah is not YOUR grandson; you can’t demand anything”. She told her attorney we are just trying to steal the social security check. That’s ridiculous since there probably won’t be one anyway. It seems it boils down to money. Sad, sad.
As I said I have been spending time getting to know Micah, and enjoying every minute. His mother wanted to go to the Renaissance festival held here every year so I babysat from 9am until just before 11pm today and it was great. I’m looking forward to next time already.
Brian and I went last weekend, it’s become a family trip each year for us over time. Last year we went on Bradley’s birthday and that’s where he proposed to Shea.
So much of the weekend was bittersweet, such as walking past an area known as the Rose Chapel. It is a huge gazebo built in the shape of a small church and has climbing rose vines growing over it. It’s very beautiful and it is where Brad proposed last year. I couldn’t help getting a little more than just misty-eyed when I went in this year.
We’ve been going since the boys were very young, it’s always something they looked forward to. We’ll still go, but as I said there are many years of memories attached to it now.
We are hoping that everything will be resolved by the end of January in both the custody suit and in the criminal case of the drunk driver who killed the kids. I’m praying it is so. I want to move on, and so much of this is leaving me feeling stuck in Limbo.
Been working on not being so angry all the time, but not always successfully. I’ve made progress though so I’m just going to let myself take baby steps for now if that’s what it takes.
At any rate, it will be Thanksgiving soon here in the US of A and I have much to be grateful for, even in the midst of all this. So I want to wish you all a blessed and happy holiday season beforehand in case I don’t get back on before the holiday rush.


NeonLady November 08, 2015

I'm sure it was very emotional. I'm so glad you can find some good in all of this!

I need tea. November 08, 2015

xxxx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.