Good cheap foods.. (slight edit) in Lists

  • Dec. 10, 2013, 2:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

... from Huffington Post ... who won't let me post links.

  • bananas
  • beans
  • brown rice
  • cabbage
  • eggs
  • oats
  • potatoes
  • tuna from a can.

(I goofed up. I meant good cheap foods/not good cheap from. I wanted to post a link to the article and also a link to Kirk Douglas' 97th birthday wishes but Huffington Post won't let me = and I got all confused and it's such a sad story.

Yes those are good cheap foods. That was the point.)


Beret December 10, 2013

Not sure I understand this. Are these things supposedly cheap? Our church maintains the price of bananas at 49 cents per pound. Beans are really inexpensive especially when buying in a large bag at the Latino store. Much less cost than regular grocery. I would have no idea about the cost of tuna though.

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ December 11, 2013

Tuna is pretty cheap. I gave up eggs a year or so ago. Not for any reason other than I don't like dealing with them. I don't like cracking them or getting rid of the shells or getting rid of the cartons or wondering how long they've been in the refrigerator. I realize they are good food but I find myself happier without them. It also means I can't do a lot of baking which fits in with my wheatlessness and my sugarlessness.

NorthernSeeker December 10, 2013

I take it you mean these foods have high nutrition for the price. All of those things are eaten with great regularity in my house.

NorthernSeeker December 11, 2013

So, you would be working six days next week?

I worked in a supermarket when I was 18 years old. It is interesting to know that technology has helped some areas like pharmacy, but that you need people to face the wild items like shampoo.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.