NoJoMo Day 5 in The Long and Winding Road

  • Nov. 5, 2015, 10:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Day Five: What are your favorite comfort foods?

This is a bit of a challenge for me to answer, because I’ve been transitioning away from my old way of eating and into healthy choices, no eating between meals, etc. I can’t say I’ve needed or discovered a comfort food during this process. And I don’t want to go backwards. But, it’s not to say I’ll never eat one of my old comfort foods again. So, let’s see..... I love a pot of soup simmering on the stove in cold weather, or when I’m not feeling well. Almost any kind of soup but usually if I’m sick it’s chicken noodle/vegetable soup I go for, so that would have to be one of my comfort foods. I also have a weakness for hot wings, though I’m very, very particular about them (the wings I’ve tried in most restaurants range from mediocre to awful). Not sure if that makes wings a comfort food or not. I’d say Dungeness Crab is one of my go-to “indulge a little” foods when they’re in season. I guess I used to go for tostitos with a con queso dip and avocado when I needed comforting. I hope I don’t go back to that though!


GypsyWynd November 05, 2015

Nothing like a pot of homemade soup. My favorite is my grandma's meatball soup. My mom's comes close, but it's still not Grandma's.

NorthernSeeker November 05, 2015

Comfort food is a bad topic for an entry when you are trying to focus on healthy food.

Beret November 05, 2015

I think chicken noodle/vegetable soup is a very good comfort food!

Just Annie November 05, 2015

Soup is a great comfort food. It's warm and it can be very healthy.

plushcreep November 05, 2015

The avocado part of that last snack is healthy! I average three avocados a week these days. As for comfort food, I love a good bowl of chili this time of year. Lately it's been white chicken chili.

Deleted user November 05, 2015

I love soups ; good ones ...

Deleted user November 05, 2015

I'm thinking vegetable soup would be a healthy comfort food?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.