Halloween and Election Day in In the Meadow

  • Nov. 4, 2015, 3:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Halloween was a busy time. Timmy went as a pirate, Kayla went as a Rubik’s Cube, and Aaron went as a lion. Timmy carried a fake sword and had a pirate hat. When Kayla said she wanted to be a Rubik’s Cube I thought that would be a hard costume to make, but it turned out to be easy. We just got some fuzzy dice at a craft store and used a marker to make different colors. We attached them to her shirt and hat. For Aaron we bought a cloth lion costume on discount.

Kayla was sick right before Halloween. She had a stomach virus and stayed home from school on Wednesday and Thursday. Poor kid was really miserable for a few hours. There was no school on Friday. She felt a lot better by Friday. The kids went to the Halloween party for the youth group at our church on Friday night. On Saturday morning we went to see my mom at the nursing home where she is staying now. The kids wore their costumes and my mom thought they were cute. On Saturday evening the kids went trick or treating with their cousins. They did well in the candy department. I took my cut of the candy. I told them I was entitled to it for raising them, ha ha.

Yesterday I went to vote. I went after school and the kids came with me. On Friday they are taking a test that they will need to go to a Catholic high school. It is on material they are studying this year.

My mom is doing okay. The doctors are still in the process of adjusting her medication to get the right dosage for her. She has ups and downs. Really, what she is going through would be a big adjustment for anybody. She was living totally on her own until the end of July and now has to depend on other people. Also we moved her to a place closer to us at the end of August. It has meant that we can see her much more often but it was a difficult transition for her.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.