... Age three in tell me a story about when you were...

  • Nov. 3, 2015, 9:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can’t tell stories from memories earlier than 3, I can only tell what I’ve been told. My earliest memory was at 3. However, this first was not my memory but my mum’s memory and I used to love hear her tell this story.

It was winter, a few weeks after my 3rd birthday, and we went into town together. I was in the buggy and wasn’t wearing gloves. My hands became very cold, stingy cold but mum couldn’t do anything to help until we got home. She felt so desperate, on my behalf, to get home, to warm me up but with the shopping balanced under the buggy and half a mile to home we kept going.

I can imagine the sound of me crying and the feeling of urgency mixed with frustration from my mum.

Once home we sat in the living room, in front of the open fire, knowing my mum we sat on the carpet right in front of it. I was on her lap and she cuddled me all up until I warmed up again.

I can almost feel her arms around me, my head snuggled into her chest and the pain in my hands easing off gradually.

Feeling safe with my mum.


Last updated November 08, 2015


thesunnyabyss November 04, 2015

beautiful!!!

Deleted user November 04, 2015

And that , sweetie , is why you are such a wonderful Mother. She imparted all that love to you , to pass it on to your girls. That is how Mothers should be...

I need tea. November 04, 2015

Ceylon Sapphire November 05, 2015

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.