Day 3 Describe the last time you danced in NojoMo

  • Nov. 3, 2015, 3:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well if you are talking dancing in public at a party or a club it’s years. I’m not really that kind of person. I do go to the odd party but they are more the meet people, have some food and have a chat kind of parties with background music, in fact sometimes Hubby and I get asked to provide some of the background music.
On the other hand if you include dancing at home when a favourite tune comes on the TV it’s probably just a day or two. I do like dancing I just don’t like loud rock music. I would love to take up line dancing but I can’t find anywhere around here where they do it.

I actually wanted to be a dancer as a child. I started ballet at five and tap at seven and loved it. I did really well but I had some problems with my feet and the doctors advised Mum that it wasn’t a good idea. She also felt that the dancing classes and occasional performances distracted me from my studies and she wanted me to do well at school and go to university.

When I was 15 I wanted to go back to dancing class but Mum was against it as I was having a lot of pain in my feet following an operation. Again a doctor advised against it but I wouldn’t give in and eventually I persuaded her and the dancing cured my feet. I’ve not had the pain since, so much for medical advice.

I’ve danced with musical societies and once had a job as a Regency banquet entertainer which included everything from serving the wine to singing and dancing. I loved that but the firm went bankrupt after 6 months.

I love dancing, but not clubs or loud parties so I dance at home now.


Deleted user November 03, 2015

Motivational speakers recommend that we never give up dancing :-)

^..^Kat November 04, 2015

I used to go dancing every weekend when I was in college. Now, never. I kind of miss it.

Marg October 29, 2016

That has just made me realise how long it's been since I danced - probably at my niece, Cat's, wedding which was 4 years ago! I do love a good ceilidh I must admit and I used to go line dancing several years ago which I loved but since my illness I can't take any form of regular exercise at all :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.