Survey in The Common Room

  • Nov. 3, 2015, 12:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The light from the window is especially good today. I know where I left my magnifying glass. I slept pretty well – so here I’ve sat for about three hours, doing this. It’s probably guilt ‘cause I haven’t done NOJoMo in a couple of years and I used to do it every year.

Hope I haven’t lost my touch.

What part of pop culture do you wish would just go away?
People talking (shreiking) over one another. Rude, noisy, and confusing

What is your favorite salty snack?
It’s been a long time but, I think it was Lay’s Hawaiian Potato Chips.

What song do you love to dance to?
Anything Brule` recorded ten or so years ago.

What was your most embarrassing hair style?
Until chemo, I was pretty conservative.

If you could have a drink with someone from history who would it be?
Earl Grey

What is the furthest west you have traveled?
Coast of Alaska

What is the funniest thing you have heard a child say?
At the zoo with one of my great-grandsons, about 5 years old. After much talk, he was hyped up to see the gorillas, but we had a long wait in line to get to the new gorilla habitat. One silverback was crouched in the outside environment. He just sat there. More wait and staring through the glass at nothing before we got to the nice, air-conditioned people house that stuck out into the habitat. It had many glass walls and there were a lot of gorillas visible. The big room had comfortable couches and even magazines to let the parents to relax while kids looked out at the animals, which were pretty interesting – unless you’re a lively little boy of five. Noticing that C. was growing increasingly restless and knowing that he was heading for trouble from it, I asked him

“Have you seen enough gorillas?”

He tipped back his head, flung the back of his hand dramatically across his forehead, and, like a true drama queen, exclaimed,
“”I am so-o-o-o over gorillas.”

The roomful of people cracked up – except for his mother, who suspected that the family knew exactly where the drama queen thing came from.

What vegetable do you hate?
None, but I’m not especially fond of turnips.

Have you ever been mentioned in the newspaper?
Yup. Academic stuff mostly. It was a small town.

If you could live in any other country for 2 years where would you go?
New Zealand

Do you believe in God?
You’re making an assumption here. Which one?

If you could see 24 hours into the future what would you do with this ability?
Don’t you mean “curse?’

What is the worst physical pain you have ever been in?
A headache that accompanied the event last January that pretty much polished off my eyesight (possible stroke)

In what way are your parents out of date?
Their not being on this plane of existence precludes my knowing. Probably they are quite up to date wherever their essence finds them.

What are you afraid of?
Primarily, having an intact mind and an unresponsive body. Secondarily, having an intact body and no mind so that others are stuck caring for me.

Right in there, is the fear that I will find no welcome upon death because I rejected the welcome I could feel when I flat-lined I turned back when a daughter called out to me.

Do you have faith in the next generation? Why?
I don’t even have faith in this one.

What makes you laugh?
That ridiculous horse in “Tangled.” That thing cracks me up…

What exotic pet would you like to have?
I would not like to have one because it would be miserable, but I love Bengal tigers.

What are your marketable skills?
I have no idea whether I have any left. Perhaps story-teller. I’m pretty good at that, but who would buy it?

Who taught you to cook?
Betty Crocker, time, and a husband with dull tastebuds.

What color underwear are you wearing?
There are those assumptions again.

What single piece of technology makes your life easier?
Single piece? Microwave

What do you miss from your childhood?
Some family members

What do you do to impress someone you are attracted to?
I’ve regained most of my good memory , but it’s not that good.


Last updated November 03, 2015


patrisha November 03, 2015

Nice to see you writing again! I snickered aloud a bit at the Earl Grey answer!

Deleted user November 03, 2015

"Do you have faith in the next generation? Why? I don’t even have faith in this one." Best answer yet. Love the 4th to last one too. :)

ODSago November 04, 2015

Earl Gray! So funny. Your sense of dry humor is intact. So glad to see your name in the notes on my diary. Good job here. Looking forward to hearing more from you.

MageB November 05, 2015

It's just great to see you again. Glad you can type, or talk to make the computer work so we have you. Hugs.

I'm going to swipe this, thank you.

Deleted user November 08, 2015

I forgot to say (well, I wasn't feeling good) that you seem like a wonderful person. The kind I wish I'd had for a mother or grandmother. Didn't know you flat lined, though. You said something a "warm welcome." Was just curious if you really believe that yes, there is an afterlife. Or could it just be some form of hallucination? If you think it was real and someone really did welcome you, who do you think it was? Just curious. ;)

Everything Good Rebecca January 03, 2016

I enjoyed this a great deal!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.