Update in Fiddling with my new set of keys.

  • Dec. 9, 2013, 4:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

up·date (p-dt) tr.v. up·dat·ed, up·dat·ing, up·dates To bring up to date

Hi. I lurk all of you SO HARD, but I have such a hard time writing these days.

I don't even know where I left off, but let's do an itemized list just for funsies.

  1. I got engaged in April

  2. I applied for jobs in my new town and got one, 5th grade.

  3. I finished the school year in June and worked two weeks of summer school.

  4. Jared and I hunted for a house to rent.
  5. We found one and moved. We were in this new house August 1st
  6. I started school. 6a. I HATED, LOATHED, DESPISED, my new school. 6b. I almost had a complete nervous breakdown about my new job. (Spoiler alert: It's gotten [slightly] better)
  7. We got engagement pictures made! (SO FUN!)
  8. Um, Thanksgiving at his step-mom and dad's house and here we are!

Work sucks, but things have settled down some and I don't want to change careers anymore. Things aren't awesome for North Carolina teachers right now as it is, so to work at a really challenging school is extra tough. I love my class, though, and Jared is my rock. He has been absolutely amazing throughout this transition.

I'm so very utterly, undoubtedly, and blissfully happy with him. I have never had this support, this absolute sense of "we're a team," or this feeling of peacefulness and content in my love life. It's always good. Always. I've normally been in such hard relationships. Relationships where I'd think about jumping ship quite often. This is sinfully good. It's not always easy, but it's easier than I want to admit to people. It isn't always easy, of course. But we talk (a lot) and we compromise (a lot) and we work together to solve problems (a lot) and we come together and laugh (a lot). We laugh and laugh and laugh. We dance in the kitchen, we cuddle the dogs, we run through the house chasing each other, we.lie in bed and play phone games with legs intertwined, we are happy. It's these moments that make me wonder what I did to get so lucky. I'd do anything in the world to make this man happy because I am happier than I have ever been in my life.

We are getting married next October, the 17th to be exact 10-17-14. It is a Friday. We're running away, "eloping." We will come home and have a big party in November with cake, lots of good eats, booze, music, a photographer and the people we love. It's perfect for us. Not everyone is happy about this plan, but it's what is going to happen. I've found that planning a wedding makes me break out in cold sweats. It isn't my thing. I'm pretty much giving my future mother-in-law (One of them. I will have two) the reins to handle the party. I trust her and she's in her element with this sort of thing. My requirements are what is listed above. I could care less about colors, flowers, linens, blah, blah, blah.

We are mulling over having a kid. Discussing. It isn't off the table for me as completely as it was two years ago. I am 32, so the decision shouldn't be put off for too long.

It's been a year, October, since Jared's stroke. It really scares me sometimes. I'd be completely lost without him. He is probably 95% recovered, I say 95% because he has some weird numbness in the bottom of his right foot. He sees his doctor every couple of months. They think it was a freak thing that happened because of the Chantix he was taking (a quit smoking drug) and the migraines he has. Every time he gets a migraine, which is often (sadly enough), I still freak out. He's healthy, otherwise. He has perfect blood pressure and great cholesterol. It's still scary, though.

I have nothing else for you. I'd like to start writing about day-to-day instead of these huge life updates.

Right now things:

  1. I'm obsessed right now with the show Scandal. I've watched almost two seasons in about 2 weeks. So obsessed that I want to quit my job and work for Olivia Pope or work in Washington, DC. ;)

  2. I can't make a strong enough cup of coffee with my Keurig, any advice?

  3. I'm so behind in the music scene, anything I need to hear?


noooncy. December 09, 2013

yay for an update! i've missed you and your words. glad to see you've made the switch to pb...

congrats on all the upcoming, exciting things aka elopement and possible baby...whoa, how did we grow up so fast?

MrsJess noooncy. ⋅ December 12, 2013

I love that you're here, too! And that you're writing and you have dating deets to share! Wahoo!

xoxoxoxo

Avalon December 10, 2013

I basically eloped too, for the same reason. Wedding planning isn't in my nature. At least you'll have a party afterwards - that'll be fun and exciting! What really matters, though, is that you're marrying your amazing, incredible guy. Everything else is just details. ^_^

I'm sorry to hear that the new job was so rough at first. I hope it keeps getting better!

MrsJess Avalon ⋅ December 12, 2013

I love all of the fans of eloping on OD. I wonder if it has something to do with shared personality traits??

And, YES. That's all I care about. Seriously. I wouldn't even do a party, but my MIL insists. I'm afraid she'd disown me!! ;)

aglow December 20, 2013

I need to see these engagement pictures, please and thank you and I AM READY TO START SHRIEKING ABOUT THEM NOW PLZ
Don't let anyone guilt you about how you're choosing to get married, darlin'; at the end of the day, it's about you & him & forever, and everyone can celebrate their faces off with you regardless.

MrsJess aglow ⋅ January 02, 2014

Awwh! I will try and figure out how to post pictures here so I can share.

And, just, THANK YOU! xxoo

aglow MrsJess ⋅ January 02, 2014

Here's some help! :)
https://www.prosebox.net/entry/16655/images-101/

Phade December 22, 2013

Sounds awesome (the relationship, not the stroke thing)! I'm pretty sure that's how functional relationships are supposed to work. As for your maybe future kid: s/he'd be hella lucky to have the two of you as parents.

PS I'm happy you're here! I have this image of OD finally closing shop permanently and people who don't write as much right now not realizing it and they come back one day and find an empty space where OD used to be and suddenly theyre cut off from everyone.

MrsJess Phade ⋅ January 02, 2014

I'm glad to be here and I'm glad YOU'RE here, too!

Cheers!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.