Busy Week in Diary

  • Oct. 30, 2015, 6:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thanks for all your lovely notes on my last entry. We had a long conversation about it that day and he was surprised that I felt that way because apparently he feels ok at the moment and thought it was me who had been short tempered lately. I guess it’s all about perception. It has come to my attention that a lot of people are under the impression that my life with Jay is constantly miserable. I should explain that it isn’t like this every day, there are good days and bad days, but the bad days are very bad and that’s when I feel desperate and rant about it on here. The days that I don’t write anything, well they’re ok and it isn’t really fair of me to be giving this impression that he’s a monster. But thank you for all your tips and advice, I’ve got a lot to be working with and know that I’m not alone.

Last Saturday I went to a vegan festival in Wolverhampton Civic Hall. It was a lot busier than I was expecting, there were hundreds of people there! It was great to see so many people who are interested in animals and environment. There were stalls selling food, talks, cookery demonstrations, tips and advice. I had a vegan hot dog, vegan ice cream and vegan cheesecake. I’m not turning vegan, but I’m still trying to become vegetarian so I went for inspiration. I’ve cut my meat consumption right down to once a week, and even then it’s usually just something small like pepperoni pizza or little pieces of chicken in pasta; never something like a bloody steak or a pork chop. I’ve now gone a full week without eating anything from a dead animal so I am getting there gradually. However, I will never be able to give up pigs in blankets at Christmas, so they will always be on the menu.

Last Sunday I played in another roller derby Cherry Popper game up in Halifax, which was a five hour round trip. I was in two minds about whether or not to go because of the distance, but I have to keep reminding myself that when I’m old and decrepit and my body doesn’t work properly anymore, I don’t want to be sitting there regretting all the opportunities that I had and turned down. I’ve been blessed with a fully functioning, healthy body so I’m using to its full potential and taking everything I can.

Anyway, now that I’ve played three public games, I’m officially too experienced to be playing in rookie games, which is a scary thought! Although our team lost, I was actually really pleased with the way I played and think it was my best game yet. I had three people on my team who play with Jess (Hypnotica) from here; I asked if they knew her and they were all gushing “Oh yeah, we know her, she’s lovely!” I’ve been internet friends with Jess for many years but never met her in real life. Now I’m out there playing roller derby, mixing with others from all other the country, I’m sure our paths will cross at some point!

So I’ve been skating three times in four days, and we went to the cinema on Tuesday to watch the latest Paranormal Activity film. It was full of teenage girls who chatted to their mates all the way through and checked their phones every two seconds, which is very annoying when you’re in a dark room and bright phone screens are popping up right next to you. Really, what’s so important that you can’t put your phones down for two hours? Live in the moment, and let the rest of us enjoy it as well!

Add a driving lesson for Jay last night, and my roller derby team Hallowe’en party tonight, I haven’t had a second to myself all week! I need to do some relaxing at the weekend.

Jay’s driving is coming along well. He’s roped in his mate and mam to help him as well. So his mam is taking him on lessons on Mondays, his mate on Wednesdays, me on Tuesdays and Thursdays and his professional instructor on Saturdays and Sundays. He could have passed his test 20 years ago, it’s taken him this long to get around to it and now he’s obsessed, driving every day and wants to pass as soon as possible! He’s already passed his theory test and has his practical booked in for 27th November. He has six years worth of me giving him lifts everywhere to make up ;o)

And tonight is the Hallowe’en party. I think I’m going as a rag doll and going to attempt spooky make up a bit like this.

Jay is going as Captain Spaulding from the Rob Zombie film Devils’ Rejects.

It’s weirdly quiet at work today, I’ve managed to write this in about half an hour.
It’s been absolutely manic all week with no time to breathe in between phone calls, so it’s nice to have a quiet day to wind down the week. Also, my boss has decided we’re going to have pizza for lunch, and it’s dress-down day with it being the last Friday of the month. So I’m sitting here in black tights with silver glittery cobwebs, black denim shorts covered in stars and purple studs and my roller derby team hoodie; my natural state of dress.

One week today and my sister is coming to visit for a long weekend, yaaay! :-D

Looking back through this entry, it’s longer than I was expecting; I hadn’t realised I’d done so much in the last week.


Babe In Toyland October 30, 2015

I saw the comment on your Facebook "I didn't know you were vegan!" Like you're supposed to tell everyone what you don't eat!
I can't wait to come visit now! Need to get my bus ticket, will do that asap. :) This time next week I'll be on my way. :)

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ October 30, 2015

Yeah and also, I'm not allowed to go a vegan festival if I then go home and eat cheese.

Buy your bus ticket! Weeee! :o)

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ October 30, 2015

How ridiculous, lol!

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ October 30, 2015

Well he didn't actually say that but that's what it seemed like he was inferring lol.

Bumbly October 30, 2015

I think we've all been guilty of only writing about bad stuff at times!

Deleted user October 30, 2015

All this talk about food and I cant have a bite without losing it ; ;

Im really glad you talked to Jay! Thats a big step! Everyone has pros and cons in relationships. I write about the hard stuff to get advice from from everyone and see what they think. Everyone knows there isnt always bad (unless they say otherwise ). Good luck xx

Hypnotica October 31, 2015

When you said about the cherry popper I thought I'm sure our girls played in that! I almost came actually as they were short on players but it was too late notice. We have our B team game tomorrow against the Cheshire Hellcats, so excited!

Deleted user November 03, 2015

Yeah its easy just to rant about the bad stuff, isnt it?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.