Sweet new navigation bar for wide displays in Site Updates

  • Dec. 9, 2013, 12:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It's not at the top of the page, nor at the bottom. It's simply there, everywhere. I won't go into detail, hopefully it's intuitive enough to figure out without a lengthy explanation. :)

Edit: to clarify, you won't see it unless your browser display is at least 992 pixels wide. Then the nav bar will be floating on the right side.


Deleted user December 09, 2013

handy dandy! :)

Princess Buttercup December 09, 2013

love it!

Deleted user December 09, 2013

Nice!

Chaos Within December 09, 2013

Love, love, love what you did.

Cat Mommy December 09, 2013

Very nice!

Lobbastah December 09, 2013

I see it! Off to try it out.

edna million December 09, 2013

That's VERY nice - thanks!!

Deleted user December 09, 2013

This is a GREAT improvement, thanks! I mostly use the Current Author navigation, so this makes the site a LOT more usable for me. Although I use my phone and my Kindle to read, too, and I wish I had this bar there.

Have you thought about putting that stuff in the empty space in the top bar, and then making the top bar float on wide displays, but be fixed on narrow displays? That might allow more real estate for entries.

Another idea might be to put the giant Bookmark and Friend buttons on the bottom of that floating bar, so you can make the panel on the top with the writer and book names a lot smaller.

Deleted user December 09, 2013

...you could even remove Write, Comments, and Bookmarks from the top bar because we already have the same thing on the left sidebar.

Starhawk December 09, 2013

LOVE IT. Was frustrated with the last navigation makeover and this is a breath of fresh air.

JC December 09, 2013

I like this better than at the top or bottom! Thanks!!

aglow December 09, 2013

ERMAGERD IT'S FOLLOWING ME

But it moves when I move.

And now all I can think of is

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5deLfDUePY

Silverstar46 December 09, 2013

LOVE THIS LOVE THIS LOVE THIS! You sir, are DA MAN!

hoops December 09, 2013

Very cool.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm December 09, 2013

i like it a lot! makes it so much easier to navigate. thanks!! take care,

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm December 09, 2013

i like it a lot! makes it so much easier to navigate. thanks!! take care,

.Java.Junkie. December 09, 2013

YAHOOOOOO!!!! jumps up and down PRAISE THE PROSE BOX LORDS!!!! You are SIMPLY AWESOME! :)

Soul Karma December 09, 2013

I see that floater... It's right over there! --->

Deleted user December 09, 2013

YAY!

Nebiyah December 09, 2013

Mmhmm, that's good stuff :)

Teflon Superhero December 10, 2013

I like big screens and I cannot lie, you other browsers can't deny, that when a navigation floats into place and follows you down the page, you get sprung gonna click them buttons...

My rapping career never took off...it's a mystery to me to this day...

simple mind Teflon Superhero ⋅ December 10, 2013

You should be on the charts! That's some quality rap parody there. :D

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.