Campout and Ceremony in In the Meadow

  • Oct. 24, 2015, 6:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It has been a long time since I have written. We have been busy the past few weeks. Aaron is on a Cub Scout campout this weekend. They are sleeping in heated cabins, which is good because it has been chilly. There are a lot of Cub Scouts there and they have been learning cold weather survival skills.

Kayla and Timmy had the eighth grade to kindergarten rose ceremony. Basically the eighth graders in the school give roses to the kindergartners. Even though the twins did not attend this school as kindergartners, it was still very moving. In early November they are taking a test they will need if they go to a Catholic high school. Still not sure if they will go to Catholic high school or not, but it is good to keep the options open.

We got their progress reports this past week. Aaron had problems with keeping focused and staying on task the past few years. He has mostly outgrown that. He stays with a task longer now and is able to finish most things. Kayla is speaking up in class more this year. Timmy is doing better with his reading comprehension. Sometimes my kids seem young for their age, and it is good to know they are making progess.

My mom is doing okay. She had a stroke in late July. Right now her psychiatrist is working on getting her on the right medication. For the first month she was in a nursing facility near where she used to live, and then we moved her to another nursing facility closer to us. She had a really tough time adjusting to the move and having to depend on others. Right now her psychiatrist is trying to get her on the right medication. She is doing much better than when she first got to the new place. At first she was begging me to go home every time I went there. Now she is much calmer. She has asked me to bring her newspapers and Dunkin Donuts. Her memory seems pretty good. I have brought the kids to see her and she does pretty well with them. Not sure what her living situation will be long-term. We will see when she becomes stable on her medication and go from there. I have a brother who is autistic and has several other issues. He takes medication and I remember how long it took us to get him on the right medicine. My parents have a long-term care policy called a partnership. The insurance pays for three years and then she can go on Medicaid.

Otherwise I have been recording the fall tv shows on the dvr. I have a lot to watch since I have been watching a lot of baseball. My husband is a big Mets fan and is excited they are in the World Series. Right now I am watching Dancing With the Stars.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.