Her Daydreams in Poetry is the Window to the Soul...

  • Oct. 23, 2015, 2:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

And sometimes the inspiration comes from the fury of a moment, the indelible imprint of atonement, and somehow seeking the median..

“Her Daydreams”

She writes my name on all her jeans
Builds her hope in her daydreams
Proclaims the world is more than it seems
Always fires back when I disagree

Says people are more than just their races
With names and fabrics from foreign places
Tells me that I don’t have enough patience
While she smears her lipstick on my face,
Yeah

Darts away and says I was too late
I always come in last while she’s first place
She’s too abstract to stop while she conversates
And there’s this magic about her I can’t replace

She writes my name on all her jeans
Builds her hope in her daydreams
Proclaims the world is more than it seems
Always fires back when I disagree

Says people are more than just their past
Hates government as her vote is cast
Always gives a beggar all the change she has
Takes a moment whenever our flag’s half-staff,
Yeah

Darts toward me when I get home late
Throws herself into my arms with her full weight
Whispers in my ear that she and I are fate
How she can’t imagine her world any other way

She writes my name on all her jeans
Builds her hope in her daydreams
Proclaims the world is more than it seems
Always fires back when I disagree

The world is angry says all the magazines
Famine, torture, and murder are as infectious
As they are each a global disease
Sits quietly then asks what’s all of it mean?
Her passion and her caring somehow
Makes me think that maybe
Just maybe
The world can change its trajectory
And maybe
Just maybe
Through her eyes
That I, too, believe

© Brian Milici
October 22, 2015

Nonsensical Life

Things are much better in my world, except Meredith is driving me crazy. I’ll possibly write about it and ask for advice. I feel for Ian. He loves his girlfriend, but she’s just not good for him. She’s a mess. I am uncertain how to proceed. Everyone else has left him cause of her.

I can’t wait to cat-sit for Steve and Sam. Looking forward to spending a week with Isis and Shiva.

Tomorrow I get to meet my friend Heather in person as she visits NOLA after knowing her for like a decade. That should be fun! :)

Does anyone care about the audio readings of these things?

Song of the Moment: “I Believe” by Cowboy Mouth

I believe that sometimes you got to take a stand
That you’re holding my heart when you’re holding my hand
Cause everything is eventually in God’s hands

I have got to take the best of me and keep that heart alive
Why’d i ever want to shut that down and kill my soul?

I believe that sometimes you’ve got to take a chance
That you can’t live your life just listening to can’t’s
Cause the thrill of the ball’s part of the thrill of the dance
I believe in the power of love

I believe that we never really are alone ‘Cause there’s so much more than anything we’ve known
New Orleans is always gonna be my home
I believe in the power of love

Hope you crazy kids are having a fantastic week! :)

Feedback, as always, is adored.

May you always find your smile.


Deleted user October 23, 2015

Sharee October 23, 2015

Is it not written as a song, because that is how it feels? I like it, it's flowy and sweet.

I have a friend who got involved with someone she shouldn't have, he was awful. We all told her, but she loved him. I hung out with her when I knew he wouldn't be around, and if he turned up I either left or interacted as little as possible. They ended up having a kid and getting married, which lasted all of two years. She's now very happily married to a great guy.

I guess what I'm saying is, if you can hang in there then do. He might need you sometime down the road. And I see no problem with letting him know how you feel about things, in a nice supportive way. He probably won't listen, but pretending you're okay with her or, alternately, dropping him won't help him either.

Waiting For Sunrise October 24, 2015

I like the poem and agree that it reads like a song to me; a sweet, catchy, dreamy pop ballad. (While that kind of music is not exactly my first choice of listening material, this really is intended as a compliment, it just has that kind of easygoing, melodic tone to it!)

LoveSuicide Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ November 17, 2015

Heh, yeah, not always my first choice of music either, but we only got so many tools on our belt I guess. haha.

How are you doing, stranger?

izy. October 25, 2015

i have a friend who may be interested in putting it to music, if you're game. lemme know.

otherwise, i really dig it. the imagery is evocative and reminds me of Train's "Meet Virginia" mixed with "She Talks To Angels" by Black Crowes, and a touch of Bukowski's "An Almost Made Up Poem"

LoveSuicide izy. ⋅ November 17, 2015

Yeah! I'd totally be honored if your friend was interested in putting it to music!

I actually went and read and listened to these and you're so spot on. I missed you! Are you writing again?

izy. LoveSuicide ⋅ January 07, 2016

here and there. dabbling. :)

i'll pass it along :)

LoveSuicide izy. ⋅ January 24, 2016

Aw, you're the absolute best. Not really feeling the vibe of PB still?

izy. LoveSuicide ⋅ February 01, 2016

i'm working on it. just posted something. cross-posted to fb.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.