Niggly in Hello.

  • Oct. 21, 2015, 3:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

These past few days, my body has been having a wee niggly protest. Not sure what’s going on, I’m falling asleep at the drop of a hat and have spent the last two nights asleep on the sofa after I dropped off and obviously couldn’t be roused to go to bed. I got a migraine at work on Saturday, but thankfully I managed to just catch it in time with a combination of strong painkillers, water and food. My colleagues noticed something was up as my migraines can affect me physically quite noticeably. I was stuttering and had a thousand yard stare. I literally felt like I couldn’t think because it hurt too much. (I know this isn’t the case, but it’s how I felt!) The manager told me to go home, but I know that it could disappear as fast as it came on, which it did. My migraines only get a grip if they sneak up on me while I sleep and I can’t manage them. The last time that happened, I couldn’t get out of bed without being in severe agony.
Then for the past couple of days, I’ve had a gall bladder “episode”. This is my second one this year, I think a trip to the doctor is in order. I don’t know if it’s cleared up, it’s 7.30 and I haven’t eaten anything yet. Severe stomach pains, nausea and diarrhoea if I eat something wrong. Not fun. And apparently once they start, they’ll only increase in number. Could be gall stones, especially at my age.
My age, aaarrrrffggggghhh! I’m of that age now, lol!
So, Download looks good this year! Maiden, Sabbath and Rammstein to headline, woo! Maiden I can take or leave, but the other two, yeah! I’ve never seen Sabbath live and Rammstein put on an AMAZING show. I just hope they mix it up a bit and don’t put on the same show at every festival. Might have to rail it this time!
I’m trying to cut down on the amount of meat that I’m eating. I’m doing quite well I think, I’m only eating meat about 4 times a week, rather than every meal. It’s just right now, with my gall bladder acting up, the mere thought of eating anything too sweet and starchy is making my stomach twitch. Might end up just eating a bit of turkey for brekkie today.


Waterfire October 21, 2015

Get thee to the doctor! I know from bitter experience that gall stones will only get worse if you leave 'em. Get them dealt with now and I'm guessing it'll be a lot easier!

Bomb Shell October 22, 2015

Have you been to the doctor yet?

Have you tried Quorn? They make loads of meat replacement products so you don't miss it too much and it makes it easier to get inspired. Some are better than others; their mince and 'chicken' products are fantastic. Others, not so much; their 'bacon' is terrible, and their 'pork chops' aren't too good, but their 'steaks' are quite good.

The two times I've seen Rammstein, some of the show was the same, and some of it was different. So hopefully you'll get to see some new stuff next year :-D

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ October 23, 2015

I've had quorn, yes. Their chicken nuggets are almost identical to the real deal! To be honest, I'm trying to be a bit more imaginative than meat replacements, I'm wanting to use more pulses and veg, the idea being that I'm eating "cleaner" rather than processed food, if you see what I mean. (Says she who's just had fish fingers for tea!) I'm trying to get myself to try new recipes, rather than the same old stuff I eat every day.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ October 23, 2015

Ah I see, in that case yes, pulses are a good source of protein and oats are a surprising source of iron, as is green veg. So that's everything you would be getting from meat :o)

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ October 23, 2015

Oh, I didn't know about oats and iron. I already eat them in porridge, I'll have to try and find other ways to try and eat them.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ October 23, 2015

In all honesty, I don't really miss it if I don't eat it! :)

Lucretia October 28, 2015

Pinterest is a wonderful source of vegan and vegetarian recipes. Quinoa is a wonder-food, and chia seeds have lots of protien - great for breakfasts. Indian food (if you like it of course) is full of inspiration as much of the population is vegetarian.

If you're still feeling icky make sure to look after yourself and stay home sick if you need the time. Going to work when you're ill, or going back before you are 100% better can badly affect your recovery.

Hope you're better soon x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.