Smooth Elixir (Audio) in Poetry is the Window to the Soul...

  • Oct. 21, 2015, 4:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Reflective Thoughts

I am so completely unhappy with myself right now. It’s amazing to look back, reflect on all the changes I have made to myself and adjusted my course. For decades now. I try, I strip away who I am, what I do, and I come out new. Or I think I do. For some time at the least I do. Yet, still, here I am flailing away and utterly failing. I will fix myself. Eventually.

I will never stop trying. Just so damned disappointed in me.

“Settling” by Tara MacLean

Those who have known me for the past decade know how much I love Tara and her music.

Oh the leaves they fall
They go so far sometimes
Do I blame the wind
Or the tree that let it go
Or do I wave goodbye, settling?

So many times I needed
You to be strong for me
But you bend beneath
The slightest breeze

You have no leaves
No leaves
No leaves
Settling

I wish I could write like her.

A Poem

Audio of me reciting the poem with a plethora of deep thoughts whining at the end, :)

And sometimes the inspiration comes from the shaking of the hands, the breaking of a man, and the ways in which he hopes to re-find his heart..

“A Smooth Elixir”

You are a smooth elixir
Filled with vinegar
And a myriad other
Shades of petulant pride
And here I reside
All rocks and gravel
Rebuilding my walls
I should never let fall
On this or any other
Cosmic cold heart
Wicked without regard
Starless night

So sing to me, Siren
Skilled with desiring
Your song of my wrongs
And cull my hostile heart
Along with every other
Sailor whose ship
You have wrecked
With his lust
Upon the rocks and gravel
Of your coastal brothel
And teach me to love
Without recourse nor remorse
For so many hearts strung
And spun
So very terribly
Off course

Until they are as lost
As I am without you
Longing to be with you
Teaching me to love
Beyond the stars
And their charts
Beyond myself

A smooth elixir
Filled with vinegar
How I long to drink you
Eagerly and completely
Until I am no longer lost
Until I am
Gone

© Brian Milici
October 20, 2015

Alright, you crazy kids, have fun out there. Don’t ever stop violently hugging the world. I promise you, eventually she hugs you back. Hard.

Feedback, as always, is adored!

May you always find your smile.


Jafael October 21, 2015

You are the perfectness of you, being and giving what you were born in perfectness to do and be. Which is yourself. Give of your truth, your vision, your voice, and there is never a chance of failure. You touch people. Remember your own light. Remember you can already fly. Struggle not, just release the fear of your own beauty and your own radiance. You shine.

LoveSuicide Jafael ⋅ October 21, 2015

You areceived far too kind, you know this right?

Jafael LoveSuicide ⋅ October 21, 2015

I say only what I know to be true.

LoveSuicide Jafael ⋅ October 21, 2015

Heh, smooth

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.