England 20- a picturey entry with more pictures of picturesque Avebury in The England Chronicles - June 2013

  • Dec. 7, 2013, 11:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Have I said how much I loved Avebury? I really loved Avebury.

I could live here. Amongst the stones.

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

And sheep.

enter image description here

This sheep had an itch.

enter image description here

Impressive trees:

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

West Kennet Avenue is a long stretch of stones -- originally around 100 pairs of parallel stones.

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

And lots of sheep:

enter image description here

And.... People Pictures! Kim is the one who gets most of the credit for the People Pictures. I tend to forget to take pictures of people, and I hate having my own picture taken. Then afterwards I'm really happy that Kim got so many pictures of us.

Baker B and I being all windblown and pensive:

enter image description here

And one of the very few pictures of us where a) I actually like my picture and b) neither of us looks insane. Baker B looks inattentive, but not particularly weird, which is unusual.

enter image description here

And check out the* faces* in that rock.... none of us noticed that!! I've got it as my profile picture on FB and a friend's granddaughter actually pointed it out. How strange is that?!?

Obviously Kim didn't take this one, but she made Baker B take it:

enter image description here

Oh! And a weird circle. Kim took this one too- I had a few of it but not a good one of the whole circle. Featuring Baker B and a sheep.

enter image description here

I'm ready to go back to Avebury right this minute.


Lyn December 08, 2013

Wow, great pics. I am amazed at the tree roots and also the signs showing miles!

The faces in that stone too cool.

Take me with you to Avebury!!!!

edna million Lyn ⋅ December 09, 2013

I was really surprised at the signs showing miles too -- bizarrely the first time we were there, I didn't really register that, despite driving all over the place. I think I was too focused on, oh, not getting killed!

edna million December 09, 2013

I was really surprised at the signs showing miles too -- bizarrely the first time we were there, I didn't really register that, despite driving all over the place. I think I was too focused on, oh, not getting killed!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.