525,600 Minutes in Magical Realism

Revised: 10/15/2015 8:48 a.m.

  • Oct. 12, 2015, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been a year now that my dad’s been gone. I think in some ways this has been both the hardest and most the most amazing year of my life. Swimming in Siberia. The China trip and my first time winning prize money for swimming. The Antarctica marathon. Swimming in Antarctica. The Ice Swimming World Championships. I never thought I’d be a US champion, let alone a World champion in anything, no matter how obscure. Argentina again, and the monster relay. My Lake Geneva solo.

Oh how tickled by all of it he would be.

And oh how I would love to sit down with him and talk a bit about this life-changing year.

He never knew about my cancer. I found out just a couple of weeks before he died, and the surgery and everything was just before his funeral. I think it was better that he never knew. Looking back it’s crazy to me how all of that awfulness took place almost simultaneously, in the midst of my busiest work season. I guess better to get it out of the way all at once? Considering how much even this “normal” busy season is kicking my ass, I have no idea how I got through last year. To be completely honest, I’ve been a mess this year, even while functioning well on the surface. Wonder when I’ll feel “normal” again.

The other day I was at my mom’s house, I brought her some things including two copies of the Swiss paper with the article my Lake Geneva swim. We looked at it and I translated it for her, and after a bit she went into the other room.

I took one of the newspapers and put it by my dad’s usual place at the head of the kitchen table. It seemed so bare without his reading glasses, stack of detective novels, and papers to read. I opened it up to my spread and placed it carefully, like I was leaving it there for him to read.


Last updated October 15, 2015


pandora October 15, 2015

I can't believe it's been a year already. Or that you fit all of those huge events in 365 days! I love that you left the article at 'his seat.' xo

Deleted user October 15, 2015

hugs Your dad must have been special, because you sure are!

Complicated Disaster October 15, 2015

hugs I'm glad you had such an amazing year despite your loss. Xx

lessoff October 15, 2015

im sure your dad would be proud. :) and you did have an amazing year.

dickson. October 15, 2015

<3

Kate October 15, 2015

Sending you all the love in the world. You always amaze me.

Deleted user October 15, 2015

thinking of you.

LittleBlackDress October 15, 2015

This made me tear up a little. You continue to do him proud by being such a badass. Hugs to you.

Bluesea October 15, 2015

Many, many hugs to you. I teared up while reading this because I get and still feel everything you wrote.

Red October 15, 2015

xox

Jigger October 15, 2015

I work all day in a funeral home, but you made me cry with one little three-sentence paragraph about a newspaper.

It has been an amazing and tumultuous year to watch.

dali October 15, 2015

you are such a spectacular human.

Deleted user October 15, 2015

Death is no stranger to me...it is horrible and I am so sorry for your loss - I know all about these things :( HUGS

sarahbaby. October 15, 2015

I still can't believe your dad died. You must miss him so badly -- he seemed wonderful.

Holy shit, what a year. I think you just have superhuman/magical abilities or something?

Deleted user October 15, 2015

So great you made it through this year and have done so wonderfully ..but I can imagine how hard it has been too.

incredulity October 15, 2015

I haven't seen cancer updates so I'm hoping everything still looks good? You must get regular checks still?

What a full and beautiful year to follow such tragedy. I think living so well is a lovely way to honor your father, and the newspaper just broke my heart.

Mercurial Muse October 16, 2015

hugs

Soliloquy October 16, 2015

Very poignant. You've had a very eventful year, I'm sure your dad would be really proud of you.

noooncy. October 17, 2015

You've had quite the year. xo

kmh. October 19, 2015

What a year you have had. You are so strong for managing to juggle all of that in such an incredibly tough emotional time. Your Dad would be so so proud of you. Hugs xo

AlmostGenuine October 21, 2015

Thank you for sharing this writing - your dad would be so proud of you this past year. Sending love your way!

missing maui October 22, 2015

Sending so much love to you, woman. I don't know if you know how much you inspire me, but you do.

banker chick October 27, 2015

The first year was the hardest for me. He'd be so proud of all you've done this year in the midst of all your struggles. You are phenomenal.

dancerd November 28, 2015

I'm sure he was with you for most of those 525,600 minutes.

SweetMelissa December 28, 2015

I'm so sorry to hear about your dad and your cancer but so excited about your swimming success. You are an amazing woman. All my best, Melis xo

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.