Catching up in The View from the Terrace

  • Oct. 9, 2015, 6:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I seem to have spent most of this week catching up with things after our holiday. We arrived back late afternoon Sunday. Tony was out and the dishwasher was half full of dirty plates and dishes all rather higgledy piggledy but then I am rather obsessive with the dishwasher, everything goes in a certain place. I have a good reason to a certain extent as the arm catches some of the larger plates if they are not loaded in particular places, and I like to load knives, forks and spoons in seperate compartments as it makes unloading easier. I unloaded the lot and put in the pet dishes which looked as if they hadn’t seen any soapy water all week. We have 4 cats and 8 dishes so I wash them seperately every other day, don’t like mixing them with our things, but I don’t think Tony had got round to it. I’m grateful he fed them at least. I told the cats dinner would be a little late but they would have clean dishes and they gave me withering looks!

We found enough clean dishes to have our own meal then I went out to water the plants. Tony had watered them a couple of times but I hadn’t expected a week of sunshine with no rain at all in late September and had told him to do them every few days. They were very dry but all had survived and most were blooming furiously in the Indian summer weather. By the time I had done that the cat’s dishes were ready so we fed them and then loaded the dirty dishes back into the dish washer(ours, not the cat’s!), with our things from the meal it was now full so I put it on and tackled the kitchen. It wasn’t too bad. There were lots of take away wrappers so I guess Tony hadn’t cooked very much. After doing that and the unpacking we settled down to watch Downton Abbey and then had an early night.

The next day I tackled the bathroom and the living room and did the washing, then enjoyed a lovely long indoor shower. The one in Cornwall had been outside in a seperate block shared with 5 other chalets. It was fine as long as you showered in the daytime, too cold in the evenings, but I couldn’t relax as I was aware that someone might be waiting.

Tueday I woke with a migraine so it was Wednesday before I got into the garden to tidy up after nearly 2 weeks. Had another migraine Thursday. I have meds that work but wipe me out for the day so I spent those days catching up with Home and Away which I hadn’t watched all week because it’s on at lunchtime and we were out by then. Of course, since I didn’t didn’t finish catching up until Thursday morning I had 8 episodes to watch before I was up to date. I started watching with the children back in the 80s but I am the only one who watches it now, I just love the setting, sunshine and beach.

Today I have a duty at my voluntary job, so it’s back to normal. I will try to write about our holiday soon.


Last updated October 09, 2015


Sabrina-Belle October 09, 2015

I like that. I will remind myself of it the next time I feel I'm getting angry about the mess.

Deleted user October 09, 2015

My kids have learned not to leave my kitchen like that when I am gone . It truly ticks me off. Glad you had a safe, good holiday ! I have four cats too ! :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.