Happy Birthday to Me in Understanding the Unthinkable

  • Oct. 8, 2015, 7 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hmmm…well, this is a very different birthday for me. My husband is working on the other coast, one son is in the air, flying home after an AWESOME trip to Norway, and eldest and his girl (who are taking me out to eat tonight, so don’t feel too sorry for me) just got back from Key West.

And where is Connie? Well, I FINALLY made it to Sports Authority to purchase sports items for older boys for Operation Christmas Child, a gift giving to children in third world countries. The idea is to buy some things that will fit into a shoe box that will be given to poor children as Christmas gifts.

Older boys are the most overlooked group, so I’m filling 5 boy boxes and 1 girl box. I had the salesgirl deflate the soccer balls and bought hand pumps to include. I also bought baseballs, water bottles, and solar powered hand fans. Other boxes will hold pens, paper (they like American pens because they last longer), t-shirts (no writing), and solar powered calculators.

I like the idea of buying gifts on my birthday more than getting gifts. I already have enough stuff. My theory is that we gather stuff over our first 50 years and work at giving it away during our last 50 years! LOL!

The trip north last month was my birthday treat and I know more gifts are coming tonight.

Oh! I forgot to share a highlight of my trip! At one point a lobsterman turned to me and said, “Ah’m wicked smaht in some arears!” (translation: “I’m very smart in some areas!”) and I KNEW I was home again. :) In New England, they drop their “r’s” in some words and add them to others (but they never say “warshing machine”, which is Midwestern).

Anyway, tonight it’s a seafood restaurant of my choice with eldest son, his girl, and two of my closest friends. My husband will be home tomorrow and as I told him, I now have the guilt trips of all guilt trips over him, so he’ll be paying penance for a loooong loong time! LOL! Truthfully, it couldn’t be helped and I knew it was coming and while I won’t tell him, I’ll tell you: I’m kinda liking sleeping in the middle of the bed and having all the pillows and leaving the fan off. I’ve been eating whenever I feel like it and the house stays clean. I love him, but it’s been a pretty nice staycation. :)

Can’t wait to hear from youngest. He called me from Norway and was having a ball. They skipped the cities and restaurants and went into the countryside, staying in cabins at campsites. He’s kayaked to a glacier and then a guide took him to climb a glacier and explore ice caves, which he loved. He also got some awesome pictures of the northern lights. I must admit I was a bit envious. Ever since I was small and learned about fjords, I’ve wanted, longed, to see Norway. I’m glad he got this chance.

Ah, well, someday, eh? Guess I’d better get back to writing web pages…


pbrman October 08, 2015

Happy Birthday

ConnieK pbrman ⋅ October 08, 2015

Thanks! And thanks for the beer! :)

GypsyWynd October 08, 2015

Happy birthday!!!!!
Yes, alone time can be very enjoyable. I used to take my birthday off from work, just to have a "me" day.
Love the idea of buying gifts to give.

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ October 08, 2015

Shopping for the boxes was fun. :) And thank you!

Shattered October 08, 2015

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ October 08, 2015

Thanks! :)

Eriu October 08, 2015

Happy Birthday! I believe that we should celebrate during the whole of our birthday month!

ConnieK Eriu ⋅ October 08, 2015

Of COURSE we should! :)

QueenSuzu October 09, 2015

Hope you had a wonderful day and dinner---for more lobster or did you get your fill when you were up north?

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ October 09, 2015

LOL! I had a lobster roll. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.