Exhausted but happy in Musings

  • Oct. 5, 2015, 6:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m exhausted. Physically and mentally exhausted. But so happy. Maybe happy isn’t the word. Content? At peace? Things are still the same. Still no new job for Nathan but for one reason or another I don’t care at the moment. I feel like we are at this place in our lives for a reason right now.

If for no other reason than that it is a blessing to be able to spend so much time with our families. Living in the same town has really been amazing these past 2 years has been great. I love that they get to spend so much time with Leah too. But I know this won’t last forever. I suspect Nathan’s dad may take a job in another town soon. Plus when Nathan does get a new job it may be in a different city. But we have such a good support system right now and during this time when parenting can be particularly exhausting– it’s great.

Nathan and I got to go on a date last night whilst Leah spent the night with his parents (another perk of having them close) and it was simply perfect. It was fun getting a little dressed up and getting to have his undivided attention We ate at Red Lobster and then came home and did you know married people things ;) It really was great and it felt like it did back when we were first dating. Six whole years ago.

It is not like we had exactly been fighting, but there was a sort of passive aggressive tension between us for a bit. Mostly because he wasn’t helping around the house much. But we have gotten into a good rhythm with that again. And we also have just been taking more time to talk lately which always makes me feel so much better. Much more connected. I’m glad he’s the one I married. The one I get to share my life with. He puts up with all my emotional garabage and for that he deserves some sort of trophy.

My shop is already hella busy and the Christmas rush hasn’t even begun yet. I’m kind of shocked sometimes that I’m actually able to make this little side hobby into a job. I feel so glad I get to do something creative and something that makes people smile. I have terrific customers so that helps a lot. I was buying a ton of boxes at the store today and the lady checking me out asked why. I told her I had an online shop and she was interested so I gave her a business card. I always love the “You MAKE these!” exclaimation from people when they see photos. It makes my day

I should have been asleep an hour ago and this has been kind of random but there you go. It feels good to write again.


Star Maiden October 06, 2015

What do you make? I want to see! :)

theocean. October 06, 2015

I'm happy you're feeling at peace. It's funny you mentioned living by family because I was taking with my friends the other day about how much I've grown to love Michigan and how being close to marriage, and subsequently thinking about children more seriously, made me realize I'll probably always want to stay nearby.

faded memories theocean. ⋅ October 06, 2015

That's sweet :) it really is wonderful! I read your entry about your wedding and i think I forgot to comment. But you looked beautiful and seem so happy! I'm happy for you!

Oracle October 11, 2015

Oh you have so many new designs since I checked. I particularly enjoyed seeing the solar system, and pumpkins!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.