Hells Bells in Background Noise

  • Oct. 3, 2015, 7:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My Original OD Name was Blinded by the Light, BBTL. I threw that one away, and became “Duke.” This is the entry I wrote when I made that decision.
.
.
.

Written 7/11/2008.

After hitting the snooze alarm four times between 4am and 430am, the get up now alarm on the other side of the room went off, playing AC/DC’s “Hells Bells”. Right as the arpeggiated intro over the bells changes to the powerchords.

I’m Roaring thunder and pouring rain…

I turned it off. And went back to bed. I was having a good dream.

If a little odd, I was the producer and the star of a movie that would be the Hollywood rendition of Duke Nukem, one of the first shootemup multiplayer games back in the nineties. Played it extensively on the USS Constellation. On the classified LAN. Don’t ask me how it got on the LAN. But it was there.

We were trying to line up some scenes on the Green Screen, and it was part CGI, part live action. I kept messing things up, being slightly out of position as I fired a huge multi-barrel minigun at hoards of aliens and bad guys and actual explosions were timed all around me.

The director would call “Cut!”, and I’d wander over as minions took the props away and started cleaning up in preparation for the next try. We’d have heated discussions about exactly what needed to happen in the next attempt at the scene, but since I couldn’t actually see the CGI aliens, and the CGI explosions, it was hard for me to know what I was doing wrong.

Tall willowy blonde girlfriend would smile from the shadows and I’d go all mooshy for a second, and an associate producer would yell at me that I was spending a lot of money every time I goofed it up – which brought me back to reality that I was paying for all this. Or at least a substantial part.

Makeup people were poking and prodding and being annoying as the workers set up for the scene. I saw myself in the mirror at one point and was a little shocked. I still thought I was me, but I was me if I had been pumping iron from sixteen on – constantly, and taking plenty of steroids. Buff beyond belief, with a blonde crewcut.

I’d be handed the huge prop minigun, which kicked like a mule –which mini-guns aren’t supposed to do, if you must know. But it was a prop.

Minigun in hand, I’d go back to work as the director yelled “action”. Somewhere behind me was the tall blonde willowy girlfriend – whose name I don’t know – and she would be smiling.

I’d be smiling inside even as I snarled and fired the minigun at evil aliens I couldn’t see, as flashpots and bangs went off all around me.

I smiled at what I’d be doing later.

Hells Bells.


Last updated October 17, 2015


=bernard= October 03, 2015

Ah, now I get it. I wonder where Duke came from.

Deleted user October 04, 2015

Write a book!

gattaca October 08, 2015

I loved Duke Nukem. And Wolfenstein 3D.

Deleted user October 09, 2015

I have always known you as " Duke":-)

woman in the moon October 17, 2015

Hard to beat AC/DC.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.