ten things in Summertime, and the living is easy... 2015

  • Oct. 3, 2015, 3:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

10 things about your appearance:
1) I have freckles but wasn’t born with them. Too much desire for a tan in the eighties meant that I burnt badly several times.
2) I have 4 tattoos - my first was a cat, it was a spur of the moment tattoo because I ‘wasn’t allowed’ a cat, according to the first bloke I married.. I got it to piss him off. I then added a rose to it, in order to give it a different meaning (a couple of years later). I have a black squiggle that I designed and a lizard on my foot. I’m currently contemplating a daisy.
3) people are often surprised when they discover I’m in my forties.
4) I don’t often wear make up, I’m a face toucher!
5) my nose is bigger than I’d like.
6) having babies in my late 30’s has caused my skin to stretch more than the normal ‘baby bulge’, I have a serious overhang.
7) my hair care plan is simple. Wash and condition twice a week, otherwise ignore.
8) the little toe on my right foot grew in the wrong place; it’s on top of its neighbour instead of next to it. I’ve been accused of wearing too-tight shoes many times, but I was born like that.
9) My toe nails are always painted
10) I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve had my ears pierced. One of them was by a student who had never pierced ears before. She was far more nervous than I was! I prefer to have them done with a needle than a gun.

10 things you do every single day:
1) have a poo as soon as I wake.
2) weigh myself (a sudden drop in weight can mean dehydration as I run a lot).
3) Cook
4) check my fave websites.
5) Worry about the kids
6) Kiss my kids
7) Think about work,
8) count things - I count when bored/frustrated/as a calming down technique and just because I do. I will count tiles on a bathroom wall, patterns repeats on wallpaper, window frames - you name it, I count it! But I never remember the number, there isn’t a need to do that.
9) have a cup of lemon and ginger tea while curling up on the sofa.
10) remind whichever of my children to go back to bed and that whatever ails them probably just needs a good night sleep!

10 things about your personality:
1) I’m generally fairly chilled and happy.
2) if someone annoys me I will internalize it primarily but then either have a moan to Rich or do something about it if it has an affect on myself or my family.
3) I need time out, time for myself when no one else demands anything and I make that happen by getting up at crack-of-sparrow’s-fart so that I can run.
4) I would rather look at a beautiful beach scene, in winter while dressed up in my warmest clothes, than people watch.
5) I get irritated by work bitching, people talking about someone else’s actions and judging them with rarely the opportunity to know what’s going on in the background.
6) as a child I was unable to keep thoughts in my head, they just had to come out. As an adult often find myself keeping many thoughts inside because my thoughts seem to be so different from the people I work with.
7) I crave alone time.
8) I’m a very good listener and will not judge someone if they come to me to talk, even if I disagree.
9) I have blinkers when I want something. I will block out all distractions until I have it. I’ve been like this all my life.
10) I would love everyone to be as excited about the same things as I am.

10 of your favourite foods:
1) banana with peanut butter.
2) Fresh bread and butter.
3) raw cake mix/cookie dough.
4) good Mexican.
5) mum’s lasagne.
6) chocolate.
7) burgers (I make really good burgers and they must have mayonnaise not ketchup).
8) eggs, in all their various guises.
9) fruit, nearly all fruit.
10) cheese.

10 things about your family:
1) my dad was the first of his family to go to university and it didn’t cross his mind that he might go, it was his form master that suggested it. His family needed his income but supported his choice to go.
2) My parents met at university. My mum went there because it was far away from her family, my dad went because he discovered he didn’t have the right exams to study medicine in England so they both went to St Andrews in Scotland.
3) my mum studied German at uni and spent a year in Germany. She went to the university and found it utterly dull so she didn’t go back until her exams at the end of the year, volunteering in a German orphanage instead.
4) my brother is a rocket scientist (he prefers the term thermal engineer but the most famous thing he thermally engineered was the recent asteroid lander), my sister is a music therapist and my other sister is a secondary English teacher.
5) we all had the option of going to boarding school when we grew up and none of us chose to go.
6) my mum was our glue and without her we’ve muddled through with duct tape.
7) mum loved kids and we all regret that she didn’t meet her grandkids.
8) my dad is very nearby to me this weekend but has determinedly not arranged for us to get together.
9) my mum had an abusive childhood and determinedly gave us an amazing one.
10) my mum is one of four children while my dad is an only child.

10 things about your love interest:
1) he can’t see without his glasses.
2) He’s a worrier
3) We met online, on OD in 1999.
4) he is his mum’s baby and she was jealous when he met me (his first proper girlfriend) because I took him away from her. He was 28 at the time…
5) he has a pierced nipple, because I love it…
6) he’s an utter music snob and probably doesn’t have enough minutes left in his life to actually listen to all the music (that no one else has heard of) that he has on spotify.
7) he’s nocturnal.
8) when he watches sport on t.v. He rarely sees the whole of it because he always sleeps!
9) He walks three miles to his bus stop for work each morning to save money.
10) he’s a die hard, lifelong fan of Huddersfield Town Football Club.

10 things you don’t like:
1) bitching without the facts.
2) sprouts without bacon.
3) people who work with children and don’t see their differences.
4) judging people on past behaviour rather than behaviour they are displaying right now.
5) hate, non acceptance of other’s thoughts and beliefs.
6) guns, weapons of any kind.
7) February - winter seems to have been grey and damp for so long yet spring is not yet quite near enough to touch.
8) when the word ‘mum’ takes on several syllables. It usually means that someone wants something without asking outright.
9) people killing insects just because they don’t like them.
10) putting recyclable items in the rubbish. Our neighbour, who lives on her own, fills her rubbish bin every fortnight while we (family of four) rarely fill it halfway!l

10 things you love:
1) the freedom of running
2) doing stuff with the kids.
3) seeing and hearing about my kids successes.
4) nuts.
5) the smell of quietness.
6) the wind in my hair.
7) bacon.
8) sunshine.
9) being outside in the cold then going indoors and warming up while seeing the cold outside.
10) love.


Last updated October 03, 2015


Deleted user October 03, 2015

I'm a face tougher too. What a great survey, and fabulous answers!!
Do you know why your dad hasn't planned to get together with you?
Very cool about your brothers achievements!
Mum as two syllables, lol...so true!!

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ October 03, 2015

Partly because of someone that they're giving a lift to who is "quite strange" (my dad's words); also because he has become quite rigid since marrying Judith and they struggle to sway from the plan which is to visit friends (who happen to live relatively near to us).

thesunnyabyss October 03, 2015

what great lists,

I didn't realize we had so much in common, I could have written your top ten food list and there was a lot in the other lists too,

have a great weekend!!

woman in the moon October 03, 2015

I like your lists a lot.

I am sorry your mom didn't get to know your kids. That is a big regret of mine too.

Like thesunnyabyss - I was surprised at the answers that would have been similar to mine - so I suppose she and I have things in common too.

The Tranquil Loon October 03, 2015

good survey

Ceylon Sapphire October 05, 2015

colojojo October 06, 2015

Interesting about the freckles.

That's insane and awesome that you met your husband on OD!! Does he go on PB or is he over the whole thing?

I can't believe you got a cat tattoo out of spite lol.

ermentrude colojojo ⋅ October 06, 2015

He got over the OD thing by the start of the 21st century!x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.