New Recipe in My this and that

  • Oct. 1, 2015, 4:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is always exciting when a new recipe turns out so well.

I had found a recipe for Almond Orange cake, and I was very excited to give it a try. I plan to use it in a gift I’m giving on Saturday, and wanted to do a trial run. Well, I stopped at EVERY story I could think of on my way home looking for the Almond Meal I would need for said recipe, to no avail. Thankfully, I do have whole almonds at home, and I had the genius idea of just making my own almond meal. It actually worked pretty well I think.

So, for this recipe you need to simmer two oranges for two hours! So, while I waited for those I whipped up a batch of chocolate chip oatmeal cookies (Hubby’s favourite). Those turned out great, by the way. I couldn’t keep myself from eating the batter though, and I got a tummy ache. No self control.

So when the oranges were finally ready you stick them in a food processor, peel and all and grind them all up into a mush. This cake only has six ingredients, so I figure it’s about as healthy as a cake you’d ever find.

1 cup sugar, 1 cup almond meal, 6 eggs, two oranges, and 1 tsp baking powder. Mix it all together and sprinkle almond slivers on top and bake for 1 hour. YUM!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.