You know things are looking up when.... in The Mundane Ramblings of an Insane Mind

  • Sept. 27, 2015, 9:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

… you find a winning lottery ticket on the ground. Here in NJ, the state lottery has a program.. the second chance. You enter losing lottery tickets.. every $10 worth of tickets gets you 1 entry. They choose winners every 3 months, and one person can win multiple times the sum of $250 per ticket chosen. Well, I found a $30 ticket on the ground.. that’s 3 entries! But… I checked the lottery ticket to make sure it wasn’t a winner. The numbers were scratched, but not the prize amounts. Also, there is an area on the bottom to scratch to reveal a validation code.. and that wasn’t scratched. So, I carefully checked.. and one number did indeed match! I showed it to my wife.. she was pessimistic.. “Oh, someone probably turned it in already.” So, I was thinking.. well, this ticket is worth at LEAST $30.. that’s the lowest prize. So, I scratched below the winning number (28).. and was shocked when I saw.. not $30.. but…

$500.00!!!

We took it to a local lottery retailer, who confirmed it was a WINNING, never cashed in ticket! We got $500 in cash on the spot! It goes towards bills, but my wife was kind enough to give me $155 to cover gas and “mad money.” Now I’m trying to figure out what to spend it on. :) I have a business idea for a website.. so I might start with that.


Deleted user September 28, 2015

Nice! I know a few things I could spend $150 on...

IllegalAlias Deleted user ⋅ September 28, 2015

It's nearly half gone already. Buying a breadmaker tonight, though, for $25. The kind of bread we like is too expensive.. I'm going to give it a shot at baking it myself.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.