Now it's just a waiting game in Humanity

  • Sept. 25, 2015, 11:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We went to the doctor yesterday and he confirmed that this baby girl has moved into the correct position: head down vs. head sideways, and she’s dropped lower since we went in last week. Super exciting stuff, and it was cool to think that doing the moxa actually helped turn her into the right position. After our appointment with the OB/GYN, we headed to get some acupuncture with our favorite massage / acupuncture therapist to help ‘encourage’ labor to begin. Well, I did anyway. Aaron got some needles in his back and neck since he’s been out of sorts from sleeping weird all week. With some people and with the right circumstances, acupuncture can work super fast to induce labor. But with others…not so much. Also, this type of acupuncture is the opposite of what I usually like about it – it’s PAINFUL.

So basically, she inserted needles into pressure points on the inside of my legs, above my ankles, a few in my hands, and a few in my shoulders. Then, she twisted/wiggled them to make them actually HURT, and then just left me sitting there to bask in the weird pain. Ahhh. Not fun. But I’m definitely ready to get things moving, and the sooner we get things moving, the better the odds are that I will be able to try for a VBAC (although, I’m not going to be overly upset if I have a repeat C-section). I just like keeping my options open, but with a little encouragement if possible. So the pain is really nothing compared to what I could be in for…

As an FYI – for the past two weeks, a lot of things have been happening that make me think this baby is going to come sooner vs. later, so I don’t feel like I am prematurely getting things started. A lot of the things I’ve been doing are actually things people do when they are closer to or way past their due dates, and my actual due date is still more than two weeks away

Anyway, I was half-expecting to go into labor last night when I had a pretty intense cramping episode. But lo and behold, it’s now almost 9a the next day (acupuncture was from 2p-3p yesterday) and she’s still sitting tight in her little warm world. Cramping / contractions are still very intermittent, so I’m not expecting anything to happen today, but we shall see how the weekend progresses.

Anyway, I’m feeling positive, excited, nervous and all sorts of other anxious things right now. But mostly, I CANNOT WAIT to meet this baby girl and look into her little eyes and hug her tiny little body. I’m ready for her.


Last updated September 25, 2015


Jeanine September 25, 2015

I simply cannot WAIT to see her wee face!

MaggieTheCat September 25, 2015

So exciting!! Can't wait to meet her via pics!! :)

TrippyNina September 25, 2015

Good Luck with everything! I can't wait to see pictures of your baby girl. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.