Cat and David's Tenerife Holiday in The View from the Terrace

  • Sept. 24, 2015, 6:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday we drove down to Cardiff to take Billie Jean home. Cat and David have been in Tenerife for 2 weeks and we have really enjoyed having the dog here, even though the cats were wary at first. Cat’s garden is looking really beautiful now. She has done wonders with what was once just a patch of concrete with 2 strips of soil at the edges. She has planted some chysanthemums and the hydrangea that Hubby grew from a cutting. It all looks lovely.

I’m really happy that Cat has found this interest in gardening. It has passed down through the family. My father loved his garden and one of my happiest memories is of the first summer that we had a real garden after leaving the pub. Dad planted loads of roses and taught me how to look after them. He is always with me when I tend my roses. I discovered when researching my family history that my great great grandfather’s brother won prizes for his roses at local shows.

Cat and David showed us photos and videos of their holiday. I didn’t know much about Tenerife. Aparently is is basically an extinc volcano and everywhere is made of volcanic rock. They hired a car and drove to the top of the mountian where they were above cloud level. The sand on the beaches is black except where they have imported white sand from the Sahara to make attractive beaches for the tourists.

They visited some caves where there was a mummy. They couldn’t believe that it was just lying there as it had been for hundreds of years. There was no attendant. It was in the middle of a park and you were just allowed to wander through these caves which were only lit with a few lights, and come upon this mummy. They videod the whole incident, it was amazing. Also in the park was a thousand year old tree. Cat said that the gift shop was full of minature mummies and t shirts with pictures of the tree. She felt it a little disrespectful to commercialize someone’s remains.

We are off to Cornwall tomorrow. I still have some packing to do so I must get on with it now.


Stephably September 24, 2015

That would be pretty bizarre just coming up on a mummy like that hah! Sounds like a great time. I hope to have a huge garden once we have our own yars. soon!

MemoryFails September 25, 2015

Really neat! :)
<3

Marg October 29, 2016

I saw that tree when I went to Tenerife with my brother and his wife last year - I didn't see any mummy though - would have loved to have seen that. It was part of a whole day bus tour so perhaps there wasn't time for us to go to the caves and unfortunately just at the point of looking for my phone to take a picture of the tree (because it was a very scenic setting), I discovered I'd lost it so for the next 20 minutes I'm afraid I didn't notice anything as I went on a desperate hunt for it! All was well though - it was in a pocket of my bag which I never use - somehow I had inadvertently pushed it in there by mistake. Huge sighs of relief all round :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.