Just me. in Summertime, and the living is easy... 2015

  • Sept. 20, 2015, 2:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m sitting drinking a slightly plasticky tasting lemon & ginger tea. This is because we bought a new kettle yesterday and despite having boiled it and emptied it out the taste still lingers. Kinda ruins the cuppa 😉

Lila is watching Peter Pan although she is supposed to have switched it off to go to bed! She absolutely loves Peter Pan so I’ve downloaded Peter and Wendy onto my kindle to read with her at bedtime 🌙

I can’t wait to start, I don’t think I’ve ever read it either!

Rich had to make a cake 🎂 for his work version of Bake Off… I sat in the conservatory relaxing and listening to mutterances and oaths coming from the kitchen and, once it was in the oven he came to relax. I meandered into the kitchen and asked why there were 250g flour on the scales… The oaths that followed that question weren’t muttered, believe me!

So, once I’d sorted out the washing and finished vacuuming we went to Tesco where we bought more fudge and butter (it’s an apple 🍎 and fudge cake)… We then spent the late afternoon at our local country park, just for fresh air.

Once home, we weighed everything out once more, this time I assisted and we got that thing in the oven in record time, flour and all!

It smells divine, utterly droolsome. I did try a bit of the mix but the sugar made my nose sing! It’s a very, very long time since I stopped eating refined and added sugars.. 19 months!

Well, the girls are cleaning teeth and I’m feeling very unready for school tomorrow! Serves me right for having a massively lazy lie-in this morning… My breakfast occurred at 11:30am! 😴🛀

A friend’s cat has kittens… Me and the girls are going to see them on Wednesday… just saying… 🐈

Ah, finished in bathroom sounds are occurring… I’d better go 📖, Peter Pan time!


Deleted user September 20, 2015

Kittenzzzzzzz!
Aw poor Rich and the cake. Yay you for helping!!

Odd Socks September 20, 2015

we made chocolate brownies this evening :) a good day for baking!
xx

Deleted user September 20, 2015

yaaaas kittens !!

thesunnyabyss September 20, 2015

I miss reading to the kids,

that cat sounds yummy,

and kitties!!!!!!

have a great week!

Deleted user September 20, 2015

Being half British I understand the tea thing perfectly. I refuse to own plastic kettles for that reason, the last kettle purchase was a glass one and it tastes better than a stainless steal kettle. Also we only boil filtered water, I'm that much of a tea snob.

colojojo September 21, 2015

Apparently that's how our kettle tastes, according to husband. The rents for a new kettle a while ago but hubs says it's cheap and it still tastes weird. I honestly don't notice anything weird.

That's so impressive that you have gone so long without added sugar!! I don't think I could, though I'm sure by now if I did have some self control, I'd have the flatter tummy I want :p

ermentrude colojojo ⋅ September 21, 2015

I was utterly addicted to sugar, so much that I couldn't buy treats for the girls because I would eat them. I went cold turkey and it took two weeks for the cravings to go. I haven't looked back 😊 x

colojojo ermentrude ⋅ September 21, 2015

I struggle so much because my husband eats a bag of candy every day (and doesn't gain a thing) and he offers me some now and then, or even when he doesn't, I see it... I want it. I'm best when it's out of sight out of mind... I do okay. But it's rarely out of sight :(

The Tranquil Loon September 21, 2015

snickering at the thought of Rich in the kitchen baking. Smiles bakes but bangs around terribly and something comes out twice the size it should be with 9 or more layers. He eats it all though...

Ceylon Sapphire September 24, 2015

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.