Busy week in Hello.

  • Sept. 18, 2015, 4:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There’s so much going on this week, what with Rob going away, my head shave, driving lessons....
Rob has emptied his room pretty much. My dad came today and took his couple of boxes, a few bin bags, his sport bag and his guitar in its case. He’s leaving his big telly here for the girls to use, he’s taken their small telly because he’s only in halls.

Second driving lesson today. It was a bit scarier because he had me drive around the big housing estate and through town. I stalled a couple of times, which was a bit scary, and I had a white van man beep his horn at me when I dawdled at the junction. It took me all my resolve not to give him the middle finger, I hope this isn’t the shape of things to come! I did also shout bollocks a few times, quickly followed by an apology. My instructor told me it’s ok, most people have a word of choice, that could be mine! Oops…

Stuff at work! We had a new lady start on Monday, which means that after 10 months of working there, I’m not the new girl any more! I haven’t spoke to her much as she’s mostly in our jewellery bit, but she seems very nice.
Dawn, my manager, was chatting away to me yesterday, then she just piped up “are you happy, Sonja?” I don’t know about anyone else, but that question at work always makes my blood run cold, lol! I told her I was and she said “yeah, it’s really obvious. You’re really lovely and so patient and helpful with the customers!” which made me blush! Then she told me that if I wanted, she’d train me up on one of our products, how to check sales on the till and give me free reign on the ordering, with a mind to doing it with a few products. (Our shop is like a little department store, we have lots of stands with different products from different companies.) So that made me chuffed! Then today she told me I could have the Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday off next week, as I’d asked for time off to paint Rob’ s room and get Bel moved in. But she told me she didn’t give them to me as holidays, as she’d needed me to work the following Sunday. :)
She wasn’t even mad with me when I broke a clock, laughing at me when I said I was really sorry and saying “you daft lump, I know it’s not your fault!” In fact, as I was leaving work and she gave me my pay packet, she said “there’s a bit of a change in your wages, I’ve put you up to £7.” So I don’t know if that means the responsibility starts straight away, lol!

I’ve certainly got a lot on my plate right now!


Seacláid September 20, 2015

Do you get paid cash wages then? I don't know why but I've always thought of the shop you work in as a really tiny place, no bigger than a spar or co-op (but obviously selling different stuff).

Babe In Toyland Seacláid ⋅ September 20, 2015

Yeah, we get paid in cash! So does John. It's a pain in the arse to be honest! The shop is quite big actually, it goes back a looooong way. We do gifts in the front bit, cookware in the back, and we've got another smaller shop next door where we have the jewellery. It's actually quite high end stuff, but we get loads of compliments every day about how beautiful it looks. :)

Bomb Shell September 20, 2015

White van man shouldn't have beeped his horn at you, the L plates are there to let other drivers that you're just learning; he was a learner driver once too! I get road rage too lol, I'm always shouting at people who can't hear me :op

Yay for good stuff at work!

Johnny Carcinogen September 22, 2015

You shaved your head? Pics, please, because I bet you look funny as fuck. Can I call you Britney now? KEK.

Deleted user September 25, 2015

Wow I didn't think people got paid in cash anymore!

Babe In Toyland Deleted user ⋅ September 25, 2015

Actually, me and John both get cash in hand! The lady in the bank says we're a dying breed, as we both go in and pay our wages at the same time!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.