Tai Chi Sword Thursday, November 21, 2013 in book 1

  • Dec. 3, 2013, 10:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

(note this is a cross-post from my most recent od post....not sure of the future direction of this, its mostly so i can stay in touch with those that migrated. I haven't been posting there much lately either......more reading and noting, and this gives me a way to stay in touch with those that migrated.........that said any new people that think this is interesting / worth commenting on i'm open to that too).

I started a sword form about a month ago. Its lots of fun, although kind of weird since I'm left handed and the whole form is basically all using the sword with my right hand. Surprisingly that has gotten rather comfortable for most moves in a short time. Practicing at home is something of an issue since there isn't much space to use a sword. I did get to play with it in the moonlight outside last friday....that I wanted to stay out there forever, but it got too cold. Chances are it won't be warm enough outside again till March.

Anyway in other news work has been really busy and really stressful for pretty much everyone the last couple months.....not fun......like everyone else I'm looking forward to the holiday time off. The only other thing worth noting is I've been working on forming good habits....smaller ones mostly for now. I have now made my bed everyday for a month:) which is probably as many times as I had in my life combined before that. I've started two other even smaller habits in the mornings too that i've been doing for about a week or so. I also found this interesting website for habit forming/tracking etc called "beeminder.com" It took me like 3 days to figure out how it works well enough to set up a trial goal. I'm not sure if I like the idea of risking any money, but right now it feels like this site could be rather useful for me. My trial goal is to practice (at class or home) tai chi/qigong for 5 hours per week for 7 weeks, so I'm rather curious to see how that goes. It will be a couple of weeks though before I can tell if the website is helping with my motivation. Although if you couldn't tell earlier getting to play with a sword definitely helps my motivation;). Given my recent track record, I probably won't post before Thanksgiving so have a Happy Thanksgiving everyone.


Deleted user January 28, 2014

Found ya! :)

Shattered January 29, 2014

Hey, you're here! Hooray! I'll have to nag you about writing more often.

Deleted user February 01, 2014

Thank you :) I'm glad we had this site to come to, I really enjoy reading your entries too.

Deleted user February 02, 2014

That's a unique choice, for sure:) I just find cyanide more poetic. How are you?

Feline Demon February 03, 2014

Dunno if I'll stay, but I'm here to at least keep track of people.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.