Driving lesson. in Hello.

  • Sept. 13, 2015, 11:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Had my first driving lesson today. I expected him to show me the inside of the car, take me to a quiet spot, move off, come to a stop, that kind of thing. But no, after driving around the school car park for about five minutes, we took the back road to the next village, then onto an A road where I got into fifth gear, hit 60 (he had to tell me to slow down because I crept over!) He then brought me back into town, I navigated 2 proper roundabouts, 6 mini ones, then back to our starting point, where I parked up! It was great! I was actually ok once I was going, he said lots of people struggle with staying central and steering, plus he commended me on observing all incoming sideroads as I drove, he didn’t expect me to do that because he was doing that for me, lol! I think years of cycling everywhere makes you do that anyway. I had a few problems with my feet, but hey, first lesson and all that!

I genuinely think my first instructor was a bag of shite all those years ago, and it was the thought of that that was making me reluctant to try it again. But this guy explained everything in great detail to me, so I felt a lot more comfortable as to why I was doing certain things.


Last updated September 13, 2015


Changing September 13, 2015

Good for you! You are now "Wheeled" and the open road is yours!

Babe In Toyland Changing ⋅ September 13, 2015

Few more lessons yet, lol! Still getting used to changing gears. But going to look into the mechanics of it before my next lesson, it will make more sense to me I think.

Changing Babe In Toyland ⋅ September 13, 2015

Now your talking! If you have an idea of how a thing works you can better understand it and manipulate it.

Seacláid September 13, 2015

Better than my first lesson, creeping along a country road at 20 miles an hour being egged on by my dad to try to get up to 30mph without getting scared. It might have taken 2 years of lessons (with lots of gaps) but at least my dad got me through my test first time (but then again that was his job haha). Hope the rest of your lessons are this good, you'll be driving your own car in no time. Don't worry about your feet, that will come naturally with practice.

Babe In Toyland Seacláid ⋅ September 13, 2015

I must admit, I was very tense, I caught myself tensing my arms all the time. But because the A road was straight, I didn't mind picking up the speed and was too busy concentrating on staying in lane! He even had me turn on the wipers to get rid of a fly!

Canadian Lass September 13, 2015

good job!!

Babe In Toyland Canadian Lass ⋅ September 13, 2015

I'm dead proud!

Johnny Carcinogen September 13, 2015

A car crash waiting to happen.

Babe In Toyland Johnny Carcinogen ⋅ September 13, 2015

Shut up.

Johnny Carcinogen Babe In Toyland ⋅ September 14, 2015

KEKEKEKEKEKEKEKE

Tuesday's Child September 13, 2015

Well done love! xx

Deleted user September 13, 2015

Way to go! Practice practice practice!

Bumbly September 13, 2015

Cycling on roads definitely helped me when I was learning to drive :-) it's good for road positioning, awareness and all sorts!

Perpetually Plump September 13, 2015

I often wish I lived somewhere that didn't require a car to go just about anywhere! I started driving at 14, and I've owned something like 11 cars! I'm terrified of teaching my own kiddo to drive here in the next few years.

Crystal Apple September 14, 2015

Awesome!!! You're much better off learning manual . I only drive auto so my choices are limited.

Babe In Toyland Crystal Apple ⋅ September 14, 2015

Did you learn to drive here? I may be mistaken, but I think you HAVE to pass your test in a manual in the UK.

Crystal Apple Babe In Toyland ⋅ September 14, 2015

No, but Australian road rules are identical as it's a Commonwealth nation so I just had to go to the DVLA and convert it without retesting. My license says I am only legally allowed to drive auto in the UK.

Babe In Toyland Crystal Apple ⋅ September 15, 2015

Ah, ok.

Lucretia September 23, 2015

That's fab news! I'm glad you enjoyed it and I hope you keep enjoying it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.