Moving On in Just another day in Paradise...

  • Sept. 11, 2015, 7:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My life has been absolutely crazy lately.. but in a mostly very good way. I have come here to write countless times, and not found the time nor the words to explain it alll.

With that said, I saw Royal Teeth this last week, and after two years the band still recognized me. Highfived me. Fist bumps. We chatted for quite a while after the show. Anyway, Gary, the lead singer when I told him about the song Heather and I have written from an old poem of mine asked me to send it to him.. so I did tonight.

Curious to see if he responds. I offered to work their merchandise table at their shows, too, we’ll see. Anyway, so I’ve been thinking more of trying to write a song instead of poetry. The flow and the economy of words must be completely different. So.. I just wrote this. It’s the literal first draft. Such a rough cut.. would you guys care to give feedback? I normally do not do sing-songy, but most songs have an element of rhyme that’s short and the term exists for good reason..

Thoughts?! If anyone still reads me!?

I miss you guys and this place! I’ll work to make time to come back home..

“Moving On”

Still have my number
On your phone
It’s pulled up
A choice in front
I’ll never know
Oh, still got my heart
Completely sewn

Your voice is gone
And I’m alone
You don’t call
Don’t message
A symbol of
Just how far apart
You have grown

Still have my number
On your phone
It’s pulled up
A choice before you
I’ll never know
And my heart
You press, ‘Yes’ Delete
I am gone

Your voice
It’s changed
You’re moving on
You don’t call
Don’t message
A symbol of
All those good times
So long gone

Don’t have my number
Don’t know my home
Changed addresses
Been moving on
Your precious heart
Your quiet love
Oh, he’s broken it
And your trust
You call around
Hit my Facebook up
Find out my number
You call it up

I answer hello
In my soothing tone
Hear your voice
Mood grows cold
You hear my heart
You once had owned
And the voice that cried
Now monotone
It’s then you realize
It’s then you know
You had it all
And now it’s lost

It’s gone

I’m moving on

....

Feedback adored!!! Please!

The above nonsense is copyright me as always.

Alright, hearts and hugs you guys. My friends are on their way over. Must go! Football season is upon us!

Geaux Tigers!

Geaux Saints!

May you always find your smile.

Always,
Brian


Spilledperfume September 11, 2015

I'm the worst for giving feedback but I hope you hear from Gary.

invisible ink September 25, 2015

Sorry haven't checked in for so long.... good stuff my friend. I have a hard time transforming lyric into melody so I am a poor judge of how it floats....

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.