Pillar Box Red in Magical Realism

  • Sept. 10, 2015, 11:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What time did you wake up this morning:
A bit before 8am. I didn’t have anything until 10am and was up past 2am the last 2 nights working. It’s that time of year again!

Is there anyone that could make your day if they showed up at your house?
I’d love it if A showed up at my hotel right now, it would be unexpected but would love to see him.

How old was the last person you rode in a car with?
Hotel picked us up in a car from the airport, the other passenger was a female, I’d guess around 25? The driver kept asking us questions, she’d answer first and then he’d ask me, but every single time we had the same response so it was kind of a weird conversation.

Do you have big plans for the weekend?
Not really - I get back early afternoon on Friday, hope to have lunch with A before he leaves for his canoe trip, then I will work from our midtown office. Plan on going to gym after work, 5:30pm HIIT class then yoga from 6:30 - 7:30pm. Then I am having drinks with 2 of my girlfriends, hopefully somewhere in the West Village so I can drop off my stuff.

Saturday I will probably go to the beach to see my swimming friends, then maybe library on the way home and yoga in the afternoon.

Sunday I want to meet my friend D at the gym for HIIT class and then supposed to do something with my mom, maybe brunch or Casablanca is showing at BAM.

How long have you lived at your current residence?
I bought my apartment in November of 2005 and have lived there since with the exception of July 2008 to August 2010 when I lived in San Francisco.

When was the last time you were up at 5am?
Tuesday morning, 5am wake-up call to pack and take car to airport for early flight.

What was the last movie you saw in theaters and who did you go with?
Trainwreck - thought it would be fun but it was not. Went with A.

When was the last time you went bowling?
December 6, 2014. Photographic evidence.

alt text

Have you ever been to the Grand Canyon?
On the way back from Vegas, maybe 2010?

The Eiffel Tower?
Yes. Although I go to Paris a lot and have only been once I think?

The Great Wall of China?
Yep - ran a marathon on it in July of 2014.

How old were you in 1999?
19 or 20

How many funerals have you been to this year?
None on 2015, my dad’s in 2014

When was the last time you spent a night stargazing?
I spent a lot of time looking at the stars during my Lake Geneva swim, especially in the 2 hours between when the moon set and the sun came up. They were so bright. The only time I’ve seen brighter stars was on Kilimanjaro.

Are you taller than 5’6”?
Yes, I am 5‘10

What were you doing last night at 10pm?
Working

Do you have a favorite pillow you always sleep with?
No, I’m not too particular

When was the last time you slept in someone else’s bed?
Other than a hotel, I think the last time was in Siberia in December…my roommate was supersick and I crashed in my Belgian friend’s room - there were three beds in the room but I think I took his actual bed and made him crash on the other one. Typical.

Are there any candles in the room you’re in?
No.

If you turn around, what is behind you?
Bed, chair, window, lamp, tuffet

Would you dye your hair hot pink for $50?
Temporarily sure

Do you know what you’d have been named had you been born the opposite sex?
Devon

Where was the last place you spent more than $50?
Room service dinner Tuesday night.

Are there any buttons on the clothes you’re wearing?
No, it’s a shift dress

How about zippers?
Yes, zipper down the back. I hate dresses with the zipper down the side. What is the point? You still have to put it over your head, I like to step into them.

Are your fingernails painted?
No. I go for ages without nailpolish on fingers and toes, but sometimes will get on a mani-pedi kick. Almost always red or black.


Last updated September 10, 2015


.allison. September 10, 2015

zipper down the side also always makes for weird bunching.

room service is so pricy. what did you get for that $50+? a cup of soup?

Satine .allison. ⋅ September 10, 2015

So true!

I had a salad with grilled chicken
Warm cookies and milk
Pot of coffee

No wine even!

Deleted user September 10, 2015

Do you use Uber?
He canoes? <3 <3 No wonder he doesn't mind always paddling as you swim! Do you never canoe with him?

Satine Deleted user ⋅ September 10, 2015

We've kayaked together once, it was fun. I prefer to be in the water though. The canoe trip is with his friends in the woods and involves more drinking than paddling :)

I don't use uber very much...in NYC it's usually easier to hail a cab, I almost always walk or take subway anyway unless it's for work...

pandora September 10, 2015

I also want to know what you got for room service!

I'm going to yoink this (and then feel inadequate as I erase your world traveler answers to enter my own).

Satine pandora ⋅ September 10, 2015

Salad with grilled chicken
Warm cookies and milk
Pot of coffee

No wine even!

pandora Satine ⋅ September 10, 2015

Jesus! That's nuts.

Deleted user September 10, 2015

what did you order from room service?

Deleted user September 10, 2015

hahahaha just keeeding.

vinyl Deleted user ⋅ September 10, 2015

hahaha

no wine even!

vinyl September 10, 2015

i hate zippers period because they are always small and stupid.

also, a tuffet!

Kate September 11, 2015

Team Back Zipper!

kmh. September 11, 2015

Yes re dresses with side zippers! They are horrible! I was going to ask what you had from room service, but I see several others already have that covered haha.
You're more than 8 inches taller than me lol.

LotusButterfly September 13, 2015

You've been so many places and you've run a marathon on the friggin Great Wall. There should be an Awesome Award for people like you <3

hot-lips September 14, 2015

You travel so much, I'm totally envious. Taxi ride convo are always stilted and awkward, you want to be polite and answer, but at the same time who wants to get into their whole life story? lol I also prefer stepping into dresses, but back zippers are sometimes awkward to do up when you're alone. x

dancerd November 28, 2015

You didn't like Train wreck? My favorite part was the gag reels at the end.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.