Stuff and Photos in Your Face

  • Sept. 10, 2015, 7:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had a pretty productive day with Tracy yesterday, to a point. I really could have gotten more done, but I was slumping. I’m pleased with what I did get done, because I’ve been feeling like I’m falling behind, and I billed a decent amount - maintaining a steady level where I bill more than I’m getting paid is very important to me, but I need to also make sure I spend time on admin stuff that I can’t bill for, so it’s a bit of a balancing act, especially when Tracy is having a high maintenance day or week. I love her to bits, and have no problem “maintaining” her, but it’s just another factor I have to balance.

I felt really ill for most of yesterday and had diarrhea at Tracy’s office. I was clutching my stomach all morning, skipped lunch, sipped a little sprite, and when she left to take her dog to the groomer’s, I blew up the bathroom. I hate doing that. There’s zero ventilation in that bathroom, the fan sucks, and the bathroom spray just combines with the stink to make some sort of clothes-clinging-to-funk. I took advantage of the nice weather and opened the windows and door and ran the air con system fan for a bit - cleared it out real quick. Isn’t this a charming paragraph?

It started pouring rain just as we were leaving for the day. Santa Fe is ridiculous and has the shittiest drainage ever, so a few minutes of rain results in roads covered in inches of water. I’ve never seen anything like it. The rain rarely lasts very long, though, and I this felt like some sort of epic downpour because it lasted FIFTEEN WHOLE MINUTES.

We did the comic book store run, I didn’t find anything this week, either. I need to find something new to read, but nothing at all jumps out at me right now. I only really read light crap, like the spooky Sabrina series that’s out right now, I loved the remake of Little Nemo that just ran, and I really love the Stephen King Dark Tower comics, but they’re sort of expensive, so I’m really spacing out my purchases of those.

Yes, I am rambling.

We walked the Ernie, and then I burned out some anxiety on more organization in the apartment. Cleaned off two sets of shelves, put one in my closet for sweaters etc., gave one to M. Sorted more random paperwork. Cleaned a couple more of these little tins that used to hold spices - I want to use them to store shit like beads and sewing/craft stuff. There’s probably about 40 of them, and they’re a pain in the ass to clean, so I’m just doing a couple at a time.

We had leftover beef ribs for dinner, with baked potatoes and a bag of steamed vegetables. Angel food cake for dessert and I shared an orange with M.

Still not feeling great today, although my stomach has settled. I am headachey and anxious and tired. I should be here until 5pm, but I do have the option to leave at 2pm, which is tempting. I’ll see how I’m feeling, I guess. I should stay, though, because I’m certain that most of my “unwellness” relates directly to plain old anxiety, my dearest friend.

Would you like to see some pictures?

Here’s a photo of my Dad that I shared recently for father’s day. I think he’s super adorable. This photo was actually taken at my old office in Australia - he was seeing an attorney about compensation for his workplace accident in China.

 photo 20150905_211839_zpstdensssj.jpg

This is Ernie, in the car at M’s work while we eat our lunch.

 photo 20150904_120836_zpstzfmrn2g.jpg

Furious.

 photo 20150904_120851_zpso4kfd1bm.jpg

This is Ernie with his girlfriend, Gigi.

 photo 20150904_103031_zpshks1vokz.jpg

So hungery.

 photo 20150901_160907_zpsuxxbk1cm.jpg

(In case you’re wondering, I finally set my phone up to auto upload my photos, so it’s way less of a pain in the ass to share photos. You can expect to see more in the future.)


Deleted user September 10, 2015

I think your dad is adorable too. He looks like my great uncle. Especially the nose and ears.

Glad your stomach has settled. Anxiety messes mine up too. :-/

I have found that anything Stephen King related is expensive.

AlexYourAlterEgo Deleted user ⋅ September 10, 2015

Yes! I love the nose and ears! Haha.

Stephen King is just the bomb, though, isn't he? I get so excited when the library here sells off the old books for $0.50, because I'm guaranteed to pick up a ton of Stephen King and John Grisham books.

Deleted user AlexYourAlterEgo ⋅ September 10, 2015

Hahaha...you wanna buy some of my Stephen King books?! Lol...

AlexYourAlterEgo Deleted user ⋅ September 10, 2015

LOL! Maybe? I have a crap ton, but if you can be bothered to type up a list of what you have, I'm sure there'll be a bunch I haven't got. He must have a million books out there.

Deleted user AlexYourAlterEgo ⋅ September 10, 2015

Haha. I wish. The Stephen King books belong to the husband. He would have a fit. (He's never read them, they just collect dust.)

AlexYourAlterEgo Deleted user ⋅ September 10, 2015

Ah shucks! Well, if that ever changes, you know where to find me :)

AlexYourAlterEgo Deleted user ⋅ September 10, 2015

Hey, I'm sorry about Willow, too. I read your entry last night but didn't comment because I was on my phone. It made my heart ache for you.

Deleted user AlexYourAlterEgo ⋅ September 10, 2015

It's okay. I'm still sad about it, but I know it was the right decision.

Deleted user September 10, 2015

Oh, and Phoenix has the worst drainage system...it doesn't exist, really. Five minutes of downpour and you're not driving anywhere. Which is fine because nobody here knows how to drive in the rain, so it's probably for the best.

Pies on a Carousel Deleted user ⋅ September 10, 2015

I think the southwest in general has lousy drainage and people that can't drive in the rain. Here (San Diego) we have these horrible dips in the road to help with drainage, and it's probably a good thing, but it can make driving dangerous at times when you're expecting the road to be flat.

Deleted user Pies on a Carousel ⋅ September 10, 2015

The freeway underpasses stay flooded for days.

AlexYourAlterEgo Deleted user ⋅ September 10, 2015

Yeah, we have a few of those dips. They're not much fun!

Our water drains away within a couple of hours, I guess my surprise is at how quickly it accumulates.

Stephably September 10, 2015

Ugh yeaj the drainage here in tucson is redic too. I once saw a thing that said "Tucson streets drain about as fast as I can walk to the moon". Pretty accurate.

Your dad is totally adorable! Love seeing pics :)

AlexYourAlterEgo Stephably ⋅ September 10, 2015

Thanks :) I think he's pretty adorable, too :)

I like to see people's pics, too. I rarely have any of myself to share, but I do like sharing pictures that help people get an idea of day to day life for me.

Canadian Lass September 10, 2015

mom loves SK, i am trying to hide the fact that the graphic novels exist... lol

AlexYourAlterEgo Canadian Lass ⋅ September 10, 2015

Lol! I didn't know they existed until about a year ago. I still know precious little about graphic novels, but I'm enjoying browsing each week.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.