Where are you going to put that? in Diary

  • Sept. 9, 2015, 6:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Someone at work brought cakes in today, so I picked up a Viennese Whirl, which is about two mouthfuls, and someone said to me “Where are you going to put that?” I said, probably in my mouth, and she replied “You drink Coke all the time, you’re always eating cakes and yet you’re so thin!”
Actually I drink one can of Coke a day as a special treat, the rest of the time I drink water. My diet is healthy about 90% of the time, this is the first time I’ve eaten a cake in about two weeks, I go skating two, three or four times a week and walk a dog every day. One Viennese Whirl isn’t going to make me gain 12 stone in weight, is it? She then complained that she couldn’t eat just one, she would have to eat the whole box and that’s why she’s fat. And she’s going to start exercising soon.

Stop complaining then! Why do some people complain that they’re fat if they admit they eat whole boxes of cakes at a time and don’t do any exercise, when I eat healthily and do loads of exercise, but I eat one cake a fortnight and suddenly it isn’t fair that I can eat cake “all the time.”? I’ve had this my whole life and it drives me mad. You have to look after your body, if you don’t, you can’t complain to people who do, that you don’t like it, as if it’s somehow their fault. One woman in my old workplace used to always call me a “skinny witch.” I wonder how it would have gone down if I’d responded by calling her a “fat cow”? No, it doesn’t go both ways.



Anyway, enough ranting, onto other things. We have finally confirmed the booking for the registrar and the venue for our wedding and paid the deposit. It takes weeks to get it all sorted with forms and letters flying about everywhere, but the ball is now rolling and we can start planning in earnest! There are still loads of forms and meetings and things we have to do, but it’s all official now and it will be Friday 28th April 2017…only 597 days to go!


And I have now played two mixed scrims at roller derby, which are people from different teams getting together to have a friendly, unofficial game. I had a go at jamming, got lead jammer and scored some points. I also knocked some people over when I was blocking. After training on Monday, I ended up with a split lip, bruises all over my arms and a giant bruise on my arse where someone kicked my feet out from under me. I could hardly walk the next day as every muscle in my body was aching. But I loved it all! The things we do for fun, eh?

My first public game is this Saturday and I can’t wait. There’s going to be a photographer there so there might even be some photos of me skating, finally!

Here is one from Saturday that someone took on their phone, the first ever photo of me playing actual roller derby, and it was when I was jamming and took lead! Exciting :-D I’m the one at the back just coming up to the pack.




Other things? Me and Jay went to Sandwell Show last Sunday, we watched some dogs running about, a quad bike jump over some cars, looked at some giant leeks and then spent the rest of the day in the beer tent before doing a pub crawl back towards home. He’s been making a real effort lately, we haven’t argued since the Liverpool incident and he’s been doing all the cooking AND the washing up because I’ve been too busy and / or tired. Bless him.

I’m in the middle of a busy few weeks involving lots of roller derby, a theatre trip, pub quiz and gigs. Alles klar!


LotusButterfly September 09, 2015

I just can't take anyone who complains about anything and refuses to do sth about it!

You're so cool that u skate! :D

Bomb Shell LotusButterfly ⋅ September 09, 2015

Exactly! If she ate healthily and did loads of exercise but still couldn't lose weight, then she might have cause to complain. But eating boxes of cakes and doing no exercise gives you no right to comment on other people eating one cake every two weeks!

Thanks, I've been trying my whole life to find a sport I enjoy, I finally came across roller derby last year and now I can't get enough of it :-D

Deleted user September 09, 2015

I can't stand when people make comments like that about me its not a compliment what if I turned around and said well I don't know but I know where urs is gong in that gut lol

Bomb Shell Deleted user ⋅ September 09, 2015

Exactly, I don't know why it's ok to make comments like that to thin people but not to overweight people. To someone with an ED it could be a trigger.

Hypnotica September 09, 2015

THUNDERDOME! Exciting. I love mixed scrims cause everyone is in the same boat and it's good fun :)

Bomb Shell Hypnotica ⋅ September 10, 2015

The floor on the Thunderdome is really tricky to skate on and we were all struggling with ploughing, transitions and just general control; I've never skated on Sport Court before, only wood, and it was really difficult! It's a great venue though, really jealous that they have their own permanent home when we just have to hire out sports halls.

Yeah mixed scrims are great fun, meeting new people and everyone always has a big sweaty hug at the end :-D

Babe In Toyland September 09, 2015

Urgh. It's just wrong making any kind of personal comments about anyone, full stop! At my work we always have sweets and biscuits on tap, I try my hardest to resist them, but it's so hard when you're bored or your tummy is rumbling! I like the ladies I work with because no one ever pushes anyone to eat/not eat. I'll say "no thanks, I'm trying to lose weight" and people just say "ok!" and put them away. We're all different shapes and sizes!

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ September 10, 2015

Yeah, how did she know I don't have an ED? Eating that cake might have been a big milestone and trying to make someone feel guilty about it could be a trigger. No one has any right to comment on anyone's eating habits.

Deleted user September 15, 2015

I absolutely HATE when people give me crap about my weight. They flip their lid when I tell them ive never been over 100lbs (except for when I was pregnant) but they dont take into account that I am 5 foot nothing! Ill eat what I damn well please!!!! Hahahha.

So awesome about the venue!!!! :D

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.