The long and winding road in The View from the Terrace

  • Sept. 9, 2015, 4:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tony and Hubby brought home Tony’s new car OK on Saturday. I’m not sure if they used the sat nav. It led us a merry dance in Cardiff last week. I thought it was odd when it told us to take the third exit on the roundabout while coming off the motorway, surely that would take us north and we needed to go south, but I trusted it and we did as we were told. Cat’s place is only a couple of miles from there but it seemed like we had gone further. Then I recognised the name of a road I had seen when I was staying with her and was sure we had gone too far but maybe it was a one way system or something. Eventually when it kept telling us to turn left, then left again, then left again I realised it was taking us round in a circle as we has passed that church already! In the end we had to ask someone. Just as we were pulling up by Cat’s the sat nav lady said ‘You have now reached your destination’. ‘Well no thanks to you.’ I said, actually I said more than that but I won’t repeat it here!
I remember when we visited the Lake District a few years ago there was a sign on a road in Grassmere. The road was steep and narrow and the sign said ‘Steep mountainous road, four by fours only, do not follow sat nav!’ I should have listened.

I am glad that the prime minister is going to take some refugees. I think he is right in prioritising children and families from Syria. There are a lot of young men who are really economic migrants jumping on the bandwagon and turning people against those in real need. I have read some awful comments on Facebook about closing our ports and not letting anyone in. They say they are trouble and can’t be that badly off as they have smartphones, but if you had to leave your home and only take what you could carry you would take your smartphone.

Summer returned for one day on Monday. I spent the afternoon in the garden. I have finally planted the marigolds that have been sittting around in pots for most of the summer while I was in Cardiff and then waiting for the rain to stop. I think it’s a lost cause though, the long period of rain has killed off everything except the grass unfortunately most of it is in the flower bed. I did some weeding but now I need to concentrate on making some winter window boxes and planting some crocuses for spring.

Today is the day that the queen becomes our longest reigning monarch. I am 68 and don’t remember any other. I was 5 when she came to the throne and 6 at the time of the coronation. I remember that very well. We bought our first TV so that we could watch it and our living room was full. Mum bought me a little gold coach which has long disappeared but I still have a coronation glass. I think the queen is amazing to be so active at 89.


Last updated May 12, 2017


MemoryFails September 12, 2015

Marg October 29, 2016

That's hilarious about the sat nav (although it wouldn't have been hilarious at the time I'm sure!)!

Our Queen is completely amazing - she has never faltered once in all her years of being monarch - and to do all she does at the age she is, is fantastic.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.