Just Be in Magical Realism

  • Sept. 8, 2015, 7:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been so spoiled, coming off a great 4-day-weekend with A, a short week last week and and vacation just before that - almost 2 weeks of being together most of the day every single day, which I love.

Wednesday I went to that yoga event with a girlfriend. In retrospect it was even more cool. 10,000 people, gathered in a celebration of peace, and fitness, and happiness.

Thursday I went to Ropes & Rowers class at the gym while A got fitted for suits and we met up for sushi afterwards.

Friday A had work but I didn’t, so I slept in, worked out a bit, then we went to early dinner - chatted all night and then slept in the next day.

Saturday afternoon I had a hair appointment - went a bit darker for fall, more caramel blonde than the almost platinum thing that was going on before. We met up in Soho and did a nice long walk around. Went to get dinner and ice cream - nice lazy day.

Sunday we got up pretty early to volunteer at a local swim. It was a nice day out, so a lot of fun to be out on the boats, helping swimmers and enjoying the beautiful views of Manhattan. After the swim we bailed on the afterparty (I was burnt out on talking to people) and went home to eat pizza, watch movies, and cuddle up in the air conditioning.

Monday was similarly lazy - we bummed around the house until heading out for a sunset swim at Brighton Beach with the gang. It was totally impromptu, Mo and C were coming back from Russia and were dying for a swim so we jumped on the subway. I pinged D on the way and she’d slept in and missed the early crowd so she met us there too. Caught another batch of swimmers on their way out, so nice to see everyone. There were some really good waves so we pretty much just played around and body surfed the whole time. Hee.

Went home, took a shower and cuddled up. Reality hit hard this morning with a 5:15 wake up call, 6am car to airport before an early flight and the rest of the week away on a work trip. Bah. I get back Friday afternoon and am hoping to meet A for lunch before he heads off on his annual canoe trip with his friends from grade school.

It sounds so cheesy but even after 15 years I am still so obsessed with him. I still get a rush of adrenaline when we decide to meet somewhere after work…I walk in, and our eyes meet. Every single time. The loving timbre of his voice after 30 hours of swimming, when he’s the only other one who hasn’t slept, helping me, keeping watch over me the whole time. Holding my hand as we reach the summit of a mountain, or making sure I’m okay as I stumble over mossy rocks, taking the last steps of my swim. I honestly can’t appreciate him enough.

I’m in withdrawal already.


Last updated September 08, 2015


rubix cube September 08, 2015

love this.

Athena September 08, 2015

Bliss. You two are some lucky ones. Xxoo

Deleted user September 08, 2015

So special!

nowthat'salady September 08, 2015

Your partner in every way, love love love.

LotusButterfly September 09, 2015

aaaaawwwwwww this is beautiful <3<3<3 pure love!

Mercurial Muse September 09, 2015

:) This is wonderful.

TheMoor September 09, 2015

Sounds good.
Ropes and Rowers class sounds interesting.

pandora September 09, 2015

Beautiful! I love spending all day with M too--we aren't the type to go off and do our own thing too much at home, because we like doing things together so much.

Jeanine September 09, 2015

So beautiful, both of you!

Jigger September 09, 2015

You guys are really lucky.

Kate September 09, 2015

I love your love. I love your life. The love, I have. The life, well, I wish I were so brave. <3

~Mrs. O~ September 09, 2015

Aww, so awesome. I'm glad you got some lazy days in, those are so nice!

Deleted user September 09, 2015

That means he is your soul mate! I have been married for almost 19 years and 21 together and I still feel the same way - I am still obsessed! I love him more than I should lol <3

dickson. September 09, 2015

Love

Bluesea September 09, 2015

:-) :-)

dreamer71 September 09, 2015

That last paragraph. <3

AlmostGenuine September 09, 2015

love this. :) You and A are just perfect

kmh. September 11, 2015

So lovely :) It doesn't sound cheesy, it sounds absolutely perfect.

sarahbaby. September 11, 2015

You guys are the sweetest -- I love it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.