two entries in two days - new record! in One day at a time

  • Dec. 2, 2013, 5:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My new letterbox has a bit of a design fault (or maybe it is me), I can't see inside it unless I stand on the street side (which is higher), I certainly have no desire to stick my hand in it without looking first. My old letterbox served as an occasional condo for a Weta. Weta's are native to New Zealand - imagine if you can the creepiest of creepy crawlers, seriously hairy with big pinchers in front. Gross.

So last night I went to pull all the junk mail out of the box, but got distracted for a moment. Long enough for the electric door on the garage to come down like a gullitine and hit my on the head. I swear I saw cartoon stars and birds and my head is very tender today. That's not the top of my complaint list though, I had a nightmare last night (the first in ages) and consequently was awake from 1.30am until at least 4.30am (terrified that the same unable to breath feeling from the nightmare would revisit). So today I am certainly operating way below best. Since I gave up drinking coke I no longer have any caffeine - and boy do I miss it on days like this.

One of the reasons I had such a busy November was avoidance. The fourth anniversary of Mic's death was on 08 November. All the time leading up to it I thought I would be fine. And then.........for the first time in a long time I so wasn't. I cried on the bus on the way to work (fortunately I had a window seat), and then sitting at my desk in the afternoon I cried again. Fortunately (I suppose) my workmates are all so far up their own arses that no one noticed. I went straight home from work to bed, and woke up the next day feeling ok. That's one of the bitchiest things about grief - it is completely unpredictable.

I am on day sevene of my wear a dress to work campaign. I am so sick of trousers and just decided to start wearing some of my lovely dresses. I picked up 3 from Ross's dress for less in California and then another two when I was in Melbourne. I also got a white denim skirt at Old Navy ($3.99 clearance rack), which I love and I wore that over the weekend away in Auckland. As I said to my friend though, I am so not used to wearing anything but trousers please keep an eye and me and make sure I am sitting appropriately at all times....

My office still has a stupid archaic rule of no bare legs (and no open toed shoes). So I have been wearing boots (my Mother would roll her eyes at the mixing of winter boots with a summer dress) or barf, barf natural coloured pantyhouse. I have tried (gently) getting the rule repealed but I know from experience here now that anytime you question their "authority" you get the cold shoulder for a while, so it is all about picking battles. (and rebelling subtly like wriiting in my diary during work time)


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.