Weekend in Earth and Sky

  • Sept. 7, 2015, 10:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What an absolutely wonderful weekend. Even seeing my mother didn’t bring it down!

I got out of bed early on Saturday and went into town. Got myself a Pumpkin Swirl iced coffee from Dunkin and went and had my nails done. A wonderfully beautiful Asian man rubbed my feet and my legs while painting my toes and then gave me the best back rub EVER while the nail technician did my fingernails. I was there for about an hour and a half and once I left there I walked over to TJ Maxx to buy my Godson’s gift for his birthday party. Then I headed to my parents house.

Dad was as happy as ever to see me, which was great. I came in and gave mom a quick hug and of course she kidnapped me for conversation for about an hour. She was at least coherent, which was nice. But it was all just pity talk. She’d go in and out of tears, making jabs at my dad or my aunt and uncle for this that and the other thing and I just sat there and let her do it. I didn’t feed into any of her bullshit and when she asked me who was going to be watching the baby when I went back to work I told her honestly that I didn’t know yet, but it wouldn’t be her. She didn’t like that.

So she starts to cry and I cut her off. I told her it wasn’t personal. That leaving my child with her while she is on medication that makes her unstable; mentally, physically, or both, is willfully endangering a child and legally I can’t do it. Not that I care much, but her tone seemed to change after that. Like she realized this wasn’t some personal attack on her. Our conversation was short and sweet after that. Dad gave me the baby monitor he bought for Oliver and I headed back home. I didn’t feel overwhelmed and I felt like I really handled the situation as best as I could.

Tim and I spent the rest of the day nesting. We cleaned the apartment, watched a movie, cooked dinner for the coming week, and finished all of the laundry. We’re going to finish putting the hospital bag together today and get that in the car.

Sunday was just as busy. I was up early again to have breakfast with my friend Shauna and she brought us a baby gift. She got us this cute little owl night light that the baby can carry with him when he gets old enough to walk around and this adorable little dinosaur outfit. We had breakfast and caught up and then I headed back home. Tim and I got cleaned up and headed to Marie’s mom’s place for Jack’s birthday party which was so much fun! I cannot believe the little daredevil that kid is. He seriously has no fear. At all. I’m doomed.

We visited and chatted and I even floated around in the pool for a little while. It felt so good just to be weightless, if only for half an hour. We had tacos and cake and ice cream and opened presents and Marie announced that her second baby is a little girl! We are so excited for them. It’s the perfect addition to their little family.

We left their place around 3:30 and headed up to my aunt and uncles house. My aunt and I were able to catch up which was SO NICE because she’s pretty much the only adult woman in my family I can remotely tolerate. She is my mother’s sister so it’s nice having someone on my side in this whole ordeal who is just as immersed in it as I am. We cooked dinner together and caught up on the past month’s events and I asked her something pretty serious that we could both get a lot of backlash for.

When I have the baby, I want Tim and Chelsey there. They will be the only 2 allowed in the room with me. UNLESS I ask for my aunt. I don’t want my mother anywhere near me because she’s just a massive pile of bad juju and if I feel like I need a mature, feminine presence there, I want my aunt. She told me she would be more than happy to be there if I need her, and that we’ll get through it together.

Apparently my mother and father were up there last week for dinner and my mom couldn’t stop running her mouth about me. About how she’s GOING to be the second person to hold that baby and NO ONE is going to stop her from being with her grandson. Excuse me, bitch? I’m sorry, If I don’t want you there, you’re not even getting to the waiting room. BYE FELICIA.
She’s got this toxic sense of entitlement that just oozes out of her. RUGHRUFHYGEUGEOIHGUGHW it makes me so maaaaaad.

Anyway.

We had dinner (Welsh Rarebit. It’s so simple but so freakin delicious) with a salad and fruit salad for dessert. The reason we were there, though, was to assemble the family cradle. Not only did we assemble it, but we fixed a part that had been broken for the last 20-30 years! Here it it, my great-great-great grandpa Lee’s cradle!
alt text

Oliver is the 4th baby from the 5th generation that will sleep in that cradle and I am SO honored that it was offered to us. :]

We left my aunt and uncles around 8:30 and headed to Marie and Jackson’s for a fire. We played soccer outside with the Little Dude and tried to get him to use the petals on his tricycle (which he was having none of). He started to get a little fussy so Marie and I brought him in and spent the next couple hours chatting about babies, the birthing process, and old High School memories. I lasted until just after 11 before I knew my butt needed to be in bed. Tim and I drove home, had a snack, and I cuddled under the cool sheets of my big ‘ol bed and drifted off to sleep with the cool night air gently blowing on my face. Slept in until 10 this morning, made breakfast and coffee, worked on some thank you cards, and here I am now! Just about noon and ready for another nap. ;]

I have work this evening, (yay Holiday time!) a doctors appointment tomorrow morning, and work for the rest of the week.

22 days until my son is due. Yikes.


Pantherpaw September 07, 2015

busy busy busy

*PerfectlyImperfect* September 07, 2015

Wow, your mom... I have no words. So glad you have so many other great supporters in your life and for Oliver.

MooniePie September 09, 2015

Your mom...wow. I can't believe her self righteous attitude. I'm glad you're able to stick up for yourself now and not let her push you around!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.