Funeral Pittsworth in Im new

  • Sept. 6, 2015, 9:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had a quick trip home that is nearly over. Plane delay this morning due to fog in sydney kind of epitomised the weekend.

My 95 year old Aunty died last week. The oldes of 5 siblings she was my mums sister.

She spent her life living on a farm outside Toowoomba, at the same property since the late 1940’s.

Borm in 1920 we listed to her eulogy at her funeral in Pittsworth where we all learnt something new about her life, expecially the high regard she was held in by the many friends her and her family had helped in the district since the late depression post war period.

With her death the last living link to my grand parents has disappeared. It is astounding to think she was an dult before WW2 even started.

She was very kind to me as a child and I never forgot to ring for my birthday or that of my wife.

It was a great honour to carry her coffin. I will miss her.

A slver lining was meeting some cousins of my mother (and aunty) who fondly reccounted tales of my spirited mother as a girl and to them my grandfather was a kindly uncle.

The people of Pittsworth did well in their hospitality and friendiness.


Last updated September 06, 2015


Always Laughing September 06, 2015

sorry for your loss

thesunnyabyss September 06, 2015

my condolences to you and your family,

Spilledperfume September 07, 2015

My condolences to you and your family.

Deleted user September 07, 2015

I'm sorry about your aunt passing. It seems like she touched many lives.

L'allumeuse September 07, 2015

I'm so sorry for your loss. ~SUPER LOVING HUGS~

Deleted user September 08, 2015

Sorry to hear of ypur aunt's passing but lovely that you were a pal bearer and also heard the stories of your mother, aunt, and grandfather. That's always the best thing about funerals - catching up with family and friends. Take care xx

KissOfLife! September 10, 2015

Aww wow, I too was on a farm outside of Pittsworth. I wonder if my parents knew of your Aunty. Most people tend to know one another out there.
Sorry for your loss.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.