Flash Friday; Saturdays child or The Devils In the Details in Flash Friday

  • Sept. 5, 2015, 8:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“The devil’s in the details, but he doesn’t live there.”

“Huh.”

“Not his mailing address.”

“Ok.”

“You could get a message to him at details for devil, but …”

“I’ll bite, the fuck?”

“We’re friends right?”

“Not so loud.”

“C’mon.”

“Still biting, yes.”

“Would we be friends still if I walked into your house, lit your pilot, polished your wife, let the dog out, opened the windows, drained the tub, huffed your Freon …”

“What’s the right answer here, I’m regretting my last one.”

“Right answer?”

“The one that gets to a point or to you going away without me having to bruise my knuckles.”

“I think we’re friends out of convenience.”

“Probably, so?”

“It’s not about you, it’s about me; I think all I have is friends of convenience.”

“Ah, hence the devil in the details and a more general address.”

“Yeah. “

“Not original man.”

“I know, it’s an old saying.”

“No, I mean having only friends of convenience, also probably not true. Your thinking when you were a kid you could ride your bike to any one of a number of other kids house, dump the bike on the ground and ask Mrs. So and So if Johnny could come out to play. Some other kid on the playground wants in the game and you’re either in a fight on the kid is coming to the sleep over. Now it takes a day planner and a month to arrange lunch with a few guys you don’t even have much to about with except how shitty the market is and raising hairlines. That about right?”

“Yeah, kind of. It was more profound in my head.”

“That’s because you’re a fucking moron, but if it weren’t for morons and friends of convenience nobody’d talk to my anti-social ass at all.”

“Yeah, thanks. Wanna play a pick up game?”

“Let me check my day planner, I’ll get back to you. Hmmm, Tuesdays no good, I’m going to details for the devils kids birthday. I hate that guy, but the kid is alright.”


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.