Weather People in Laughing in Circles

  • Aug. 12, 2013, 9:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Those people who stand before maps, pointing here and there, describing in phrases carefully learned in meteorology how 'this huge front is moving slowly, so by the time it reaches us, we'll be lucky to see a few sprinkles'. (Paraphrased since I am not a meteorologist)

Hubby says, 'Work tomorrow', while I'm gently shaking my head because the dizziness and exhaustion is telling me there's going to be a freaking deluge! 'Honey, better bring in the cows and batten the hatches because I'm telling you, this guy is off his rocker.' He laughed -surely because we have no cows, and there's not a single hatch to be found.

So this morning between the thunderclaps, the rain that sounded like a cow pissing on a flat rock, and a ringing in my ears that is so loud, I half expect the neighbor to send her kid over with ear plugs, I felt vindicated. DIZZY and vindicated. Being right isn't always all it's cracked up to be.

Nonetheless, I sit up on the side of my bed, take a few deeeep breaths and engage in 15 seconds of breathing meditation before getting up and making that 30' trek to the bathroom which is, in reality, only about 10' away. Vestibularly challenged people don't often take the shortest route between point A and B. We sort of ping off of the chair to the right, which sends them swaying over to bounce off the dresser on the left.... Think pinball.

It sounds bad, but really, it's like my very own Worlds of Fun ride. No lines, no waiting......and I always get to ride in the front!


Afterthought: If a person puts on 15 lbs during her 18 days on steroids, it would only be fair that the weight would be lost in 18 days, right? So....:counting fingers:...I have 13 days left to lose 10 lbs.


Deleted user August 12, 2013

I always say though... that the job of being a weatherman would be a great job... cause it's the only job where it doesn't even matter if you get it right or wrong.. you still get paid. Best job ever.. yeah sure...everyone hates you but then.. everyone seems to hate everyone so.. whatever.

Your condition sounds like it sucks eggs.. you have my greatest sympathies there... I get mgraines and those suck. I couldn't imagine an inner ear problem....

I apologize for any typos because I am not wearing my glasses and usually my visiion is a little clearer than this.. for some reason... I went from being able to read your entry to the words being all kinds of fog.

Maybe it's eye snot... it could be.

Good luck losing weight.

MJ's Page Deleted user ⋅ August 12, 2013

Linda August 12, 2013

Our bodies really are good weather gauges. Sorry about your dizziness and exhaustion, but this is really a good read.

NorthernSeeker August 12, 2013

Maybe you should be a meteorologist.

Pintador August 12, 2013

That is some scary fast weight gain. Not sure if it works that way when it comes to losing it but one can only hope!!

Satellite Six August 12, 2013

Ohhh steroids!! I don't do steroids! Well, I am on topical ones right now, but oral ones for me are a no no. If your math of losing weight after steroids works for you, I was robbed. ROBBED I tell ya! I am still carrying around steroid weight from 10 + years ago.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.