More car problems in The View from the Terrace

  • Sept. 6, 2015, 5:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can’t believe it, we have had more car problems! Hubby brought home our new car on Wednesday. On Thursday we drove to Cardiff to collect Cat’s dog who we are having while they go to Tenerife. Yesterday morning Tony drove the car to work and told Hubby there was something wrong, it felt as though the brakes were dragging. Hubby took it to the garage and It turned out that the brake caliper was seized on. It really scares me that we were on the motorway in it on Thursday. I didn’t drive because I had taken a migraine med earlier so I don’t know if there was a problem then. Hubby never notices anything. I did notice an odd sound, almost like there was something stuck on the wheel, I suppose maybe there was, the brake! It’s not funny though. I wanted to stop and check the car over but Hubby insisted it was alright like he always does and I didn’t push it because I was tired and still a bit affected by the meds.

I have decided that either I or Tony will drive the car at least once every week from now on. Hubby is totally blind to anything going wrong. He has seized 3 engines in the past 30 years, 2 from not noticing or ignoring the temperature gauge and one from insufficient oil in a car we had just bought, ‘Who would expect someone to sell you a car with no oil in.’ he said. Well I would have checked everything before I drove it but off he went up the motorway and the enging was ruined within days of or buying it.

He and Tony have gone to Brecon this afternoon to pick up Tony’s new car. I told Tony to drive there even though the garage say the car is OK now. Tony is good with cars, he was going to be a motor mechanic but unfortunately couldn’t manage the book work and exams they have to do nowadays because of his dyslexia and ADD. In the old days he would have gone on an apprenticeship and learned on the job. It’s a shame because he has a real talent with everything mechanical or electrical. He’s rewired our house and it’s fine. The ‘professional’ who put in most of the old wiring when we first moved in had used the wrong grade and that is why it used to cut out a lot.

The situation with the refugees is really awful. Every day it is the first thing on the news. There are the ones at Calais who are trying to get into the UK illegally on lorries and those in Greece and Italy who survived crossing the Mediterranean. The pictures of the litttle boy who drowned were heartbraking. The UK should be taking in some of these people. They are desperate. There has been a climate against immigration here for several years mainly because people come from East European countries and take jobs at lower rates which means our own people can’t get a decent wage. I do understand people being against that. But this is different, these are refugees fleeing from war torn countries.

There are centres opening up all over the country where people can leave things for the refugees such as blankets and clothes. I found several blankets in a chest a few days ago that I had forgotten I had. I don’t need them now as we use quilts on the beds. I will keep the 2 cellular ones as they were wedding presents and could be needed for really cold weather and the rest can go to the collection point in Hereford. It isn’t much, but if we all do what we can it will help.


Last updated September 09, 2015


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.