Better Navigation, Part One in Site Updates

  • Dec. 2, 2013, 5:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm not really a fan of the current entry navigation. I'd like to eliminate it in favor of a cleaner, more intuitive system. I've taken the first step.

If you like to browse the latest entries, you will like this one. When reading an entry that you clicked on from the front page, you will get a listing of the four recent entries that were published previous to the one you just read, at the bottom of the page.

This should make things flow a bit more naturally:

  • Click on the first entry on the main page that interests you
  • Read the entry
  • Read the comments
  • Optionally leave your own comment
  • Click on an entry below the comment box that interests you for further browsing.

No clicking the back button, no scrolling back and forth to find what you need. That's the theory, anyway. :)

So please, go try it out. Say hello to some random people you don't know. Enjoy.


Jack December 02, 2013

Hello random people I don't know!

simple mind Jack ⋅ December 02, 2013

Yeah, I can be pretty random sometimes. Hello Jack.

Deleted user December 02, 2013

Awesome, thanks!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm December 02, 2013

should be interesting. i've pretty much stayed with people here from open diary. guess i'll go reach out and see who is out there. take care,

Relish December 02, 2013

I might have missed something but I can't reply to notes anymore from my comments section. I have to be on the entry the note was left on (which could cause me to miss comments if I'm only reading the latest entry). I used to click on their name from the place they left the note and it would take me to the right place to hit the reply button. Was this changed? Hopefully this makes sense, it's confusing lol

simple mind Relish ⋅ December 02, 2013

I changed the name link to point to their profile. There's still a link that does what you want. You just need to click on the entry title at the top of the comment.

Don'tMakeMeThink simple mind ⋅ December 02, 2013

Would it be possible to get a reply button on the comments page itself?

simple mind Don'tMakeMeThink ⋅ December 02, 2013

Yep, it's going to be a premium feature when I get to that point.

Relish simple mind ⋅ December 03, 2013

ahh thank you! :)

woman in the moon Relish ⋅ December 04, 2013

I look forward to a reply button on the comments page too.

Jane Says December 02, 2013

I have a personal pet peeve with the Bookmarks page...I don't like that it resets to zero just because you visit it. As a result I never use it and I have over 600 new entries in the notification...I think I'm just too OCD about it. I use the Bookmarks by User page instead, but then I can't tell who I've read and who I haven't. Some food for thought if you're looking for that kind of input. :)

simple mind Jane Says ⋅ December 02, 2013

Somewhere on the to-do list, I want to start tracking entries that you actually read (or skim, or whatever), so that unread entries can be highlighted. And at that point, I could link the notification to actual entries unread.

Jane Says simple mind ⋅ December 02, 2013

I thought of one more stupid little thing - I hate that my entries record when I edited them. Again, one of my own hangups but there you go :)

Thanks for all the work you've done so far!

Deleted user December 02, 2013

I don't see a way to navigate from the current page to the next. Can you add some screenshots of what you are describing here?

Lepetit pumpkinesque December 03, 2013

headed to do just that

Nebiyah December 03, 2013

Maybe a bit off topic but I was kind of having navigational thoughts yesterday when I was working on editing one of my longer posts. Turns into a lot of scrolling to that edit button... I dont know if that space to the right of a published post/entry is reserved for anything but I could find it useful having the edit button on a fixed scroll to the right there. Maybe along with bookmark, add friend, whateverelse... Either way, thanks for the awesome work!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.