target: make my house bigger. Begun. in advent 2013

  • Dec. 1, 2013, 11:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Over the summer I tried the Fly Lady method of house clearance. 15 minutes a day in which I had to get rid of 30 things.It didn't really work for me though, although I was getting rid of stuff, it was only making a dint in what has become a house only a few crumbs away from Hoarders.

One problem is in having to hold onto toys for every age group. Add to the the prolific manner in which my children churn out art, needing high chair style seats, pushchairs and baby crockery, cutlery and bibs.

The fact that every day is a mammoth task of just keeping the surface tidy - with two two year olds and a the year old in the house every toy makes an appearance but harshly any get put away. Cleaning under the table after every meal and snack sometimes feels as though it's a job for a bulldozer. I don't have one kid dropping more than they eat but three! And then you add the after and before school kids - sometimes I have six or seven kids in my house dropping crumbs, getting the art stuff out and having to be nagged to put it away afterwards. The crockery, the cutlery all adding up and fighting the battle to keep it all clean.

I want my house back - this isn't an unknown fact but as long as I can't find a school job, I shall keep on sharing my home with my work.

Well, today I reclaimed my conservatory. It now (still) has the art chest in the corner but other than that it had seats, tumble dryer and a small table. Bikes are gone, hula hoops and paddling pool? Gone. Piles of artwork, recycled our kept in a special bag I keep for special pictures by my girls.

Gone. Gone. Gone.

I have my conservatory. :-)

Hmmm...which room will be next..?


Mum of Yum December 01, 2013

Well done you! I have enough trouble with just 2 kids :) here's to the next room!

~Twinkle~ December 01, 2013

I am always tidying, I have a bag of books I need to give to charity sitting in the living room (and have been there for last month or so!). I'm better at throwing out than remembering to take things to charity/tip etc! Good luck with your next room, yay for having your conservatory back :) xx

Deleted user December 01, 2013

Muy bien hecho!

A veces miro a mi alrededor y me cansa solo de mirar como está todo. Si la casa fuera mía... otro gallo cantaría. Así que entiendo, de cierto modo, como te sientes. Animo con el siguiente cuarto! :-)

Deleted user December 01, 2013

P.S. - Just checked pinterest and good that you saw my pin! I liked some of the ideas and if I may advice, Martha Stewart has many tricks on organisation in her blog too!

salty*dog December 01, 2013

See, that is why S and I fight so hard to keep the kids stuff out of the living room (or at least tidied away easily at the end of the day). Saying that, I'm sat here looking at a pile of Barbies surrounded by lego models and a giant blue tub of lego. Ahhh. ;-)

ermentrude salty*dog ⋅ December 01, 2013

My kids stuff isn't even in there! It's all the childminding stuff! The girls are good as keeping their stuff upstairs as I've always had the rule that any toy downstairs is fair game for everyone to use heh heh! X

Deleted user December 01, 2013

Your children churn out art? What a joyful household you must have! My father was an artist. He encouraged it in all of his daughters but only one of us had any natural talent for it. (Alas, not I.)

Sounds like they stick to the right substrate, though. A friend of mine on another site is going through a very tough time with her 3-year-old daughter drawing on walls at every opportunity. With dark purple crayon, at that. Then somehow she got into a can of house paint and spilled it all over the carpet. I fear for my friend's sanity. ;-)

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ December 02, 2013

Yikes to dark people creation on the walls! Another diarist painted black board paint on her daughter's wall for her to draw on. My girls have both 'decorated' their rooms when younger and then had to stand cleaning the wall (at separate times to one another) but we have the aforementioned art chest in the conservatory as well as a drawing drawer in the living room so there is always the availability of schtuff! X

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ December 02, 2013

That was supposed to say 'purple crayon' not people creation!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.