Monster? in Friends With the Benedicts

Revised: 08/25/2015 7:09 a.m.

  • Aug. 24, 2015, 6:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am hoping we are not living amongst a monster in our neighborhood. Butters, otherwise known as Taters, or affectionately nicknamed Tater Nuts, was missing for a couple days. We have had 2 cats go missing and they did not return. So, we kinda wrote him off as another casualty. I mean, with sooo many cats, and so many going outside, it happens. We always hope that they just got new homes, but we know that things most likely ended badly. But you do what you have to do when you have too many cats and some of them won’t use the litter box. I mean, let’s be real for a second. They are cared for, and MOST of them are fixed. We are doing what we can on a fixed income. But before I get any nasty notes, let me just be clear that they won’t be tolerated for these reasons: our cats are happy, healthy, and they get vet care whenever they need it! Period. And that is more than I can say for some people. Anyway… so I went to let one of the dogs back in, and there is Tater on the porch railing. We don’t have a porch light so I couldn’t see immediately. But when I picked him up, I noticed right away that his breath smelled hoooorrible and he was drooling. So I brought him in, and Laura was just waking up and I told her that Tater was back, but something was wrong. When we saw him in the light, we could see his face was all messed up. She said to go put him in the spare bedroom. So I did, and then when we examined him, his jaw looked broken! It looked like someone had beaten him! His eye was closed and we weren’t initially sure it was even there. But later on, he opened it. Look at him!

alt text

He looked horrible! I don’t think another animal did that, and I don’t think a car did it. The only conclusion I can come to is that someone did that. But why? It probably doesn’t matter. Serial killers and sociopaths unfortunately start with harming animals. It was more than likely a child or teen. And why was he gone for so long? It just doesn’t make sense. But, we brought him right in the day after, and the vet said yes it more than likely is broken. But that a broken jaw is not an emergency. So he treated him for the infection with shots and some eye drops, and sent him home until he could be sedated this week and have his jaw manipulated back into place. I just made that appointment today and it is tomorrow at 3:45. So I will definitely update after I take him in for that. He has been eating very soft foods, they actually sell cat food that is called gravy in a packet and I got him some of that. He shocked the hell out of me by eating some hard food when I fed the cats the day after it happened. LOL. I have no idea how he did it,. but he did! Haha. Well, I am exhausted, I woke up today at 7am, after having gone to bed at 8pm! I went to get my labs done this morning in preparation for my 10:30 doc appt. with Dr. Merold tomorrow for my 3 month. and I expect that to go great, so I am sure I will tell you all about that as well. I will have a very full day tomorrow so I am hoping I can continue to go to bed early like I have been. Bye!

Steph

***I made Butters a “Cat food smoothie” earlier, and he appreciated it sooo much! He was able to instead of fighting to chew, drink his food instead, and that was good because he hasn’t really been able to eat substantially and pig out since he’s been home pretty much. I got a pic of him with his bowl of food lol:

alt text

Isn’t he ugly but soo cute too? lol. His eye looks like 70% better I swear! He is getting better remarkably fast, I just hope that tomorrow’s appt. goes the same way. I shall be back, later. Byeee....

Steph


Last updated August 25, 2015


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.