Scrim Scrim Scrim in Diary

  • Aug. 15, 2015, 11:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have my first roller derby scrim in Liverpool next Saturday. A scrim is basically an unofficial game, more like a practice. But this will be my first full length game and firtst time playing against people from other teams, so I’m really nervous but also really excited. Jay is coming up to watch as well, he’s never seen me skate before! I’ve got my scrim tops ready; you have to have a black one and a white one, standard for scrims and not your team colours as you could be all mixed up. Excitimacated! I picked the number for geek reasons, because my Derbyversary is Star Wars Day, May the fourth (May the force be with you.) and the number 1138 appears repeatedly in George Lucas’ films, including Star Wars.




Jay has now finished work, next week was supposed to be his last week but they’ve let him go now. I was worried about his depression but it’s actually had the opposite effect. The change in him was instant, as soon as I came home from work he was happy, upbeat, talkative, affectionate. Everything he hasn’t been for months! Yeah he’s worried about finding a new job but he’s so relieved to be out of that place. Last week he had one or two job interviews every single day and he’s got more lined up next week, I’m confident he’ll find a new job quickly.


We went out with a couple of friends last night. They have a baby a few months old and were saying they’ve booked her Christening for 11th October (the day before my birthday!). I asked who they’re having for Godparents and they said Jay is one. I asked him why he didn’t tell me and he said he forgot! I don’t know, we’re both atheists so maybe he doesn’t think it’s important, but I think it’s a big honour to be asked. Are there legal implications, do you have to legally agree to look after the baby if anything happens to the parents, or is it just a Church thing?


Waterfire August 15, 2015

It's just a church thing, Godparents have no legal responsibilities. Lucky really, or I'd never have agreed to it!

Bomb Shell Waterfire ⋅ August 15, 2015

Ah fair enough, I can see why he wasn't bothered about it lol!

Vee August 16, 2015

That's great that Jay's had a good reaction to everything and that he's got interviews lined up :-)
And exciting news about tie first have against another team. Go kick some ass!

Canadian Lass August 19, 2015

i am a godmother to my nephew, but yea, its just a thing that the church still does for some reason

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.